AMTRAK / CONCORD BUS - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2022

AMTRAK / CONCORD BUS

PHASE 2 -  CT  to ME

Amtrak station New London CT 7:00 am.... Met a fellow two wheeler named Java Joe owner Java Joe's Cafe. At the station.  He has been in operation since December.  Retired Marine - Vietnam War - came out of retirement because he couldn't make his bills. He is a proud guy, and owns several Harleys.  He told me he is going to ride bikes in until he dies..I told him I'm doing the same.  Anyway he told me I'll love Canada .... I told him I'll see him when I return in 30....

Heart 2 Comment 0

Amtrak trip went well. As normal I tried to be flexible and it really helped today.  Train 150 is a commuter and has no baggage car - like all my other Amtrak travels.  Getting the bike thru to he narrow entryway and turning the bike 90 degrees to the "baggage area" was fun!  The bags had to be removed to hang the bike too....it hung out into the passage way.  I apologized to the conductor who said "I don't know they have it setup this way..."

I again said I apologize - I was just happy I was on the train with my stuff.  No worries!

Onward....

Concord BUS - Boston to Bangor ME

Heart 1 Comment 0

Concord BUS Rocks!  We got pulled out of line to board first how nice right.  Heavy Rescue has its own compartment below deck.  

Heart 3 Comment 0

I met a fellow adventurer 63-year-old, grey haired pony tailed  Ross - hiking the AT from Baxter State Park, ME south to Mt Washington NH.  10 miles a day for 300 miles or 30 days!!!  

We chatted about our journeys and our payloads - both agreeing a great time lies ahead.  He told me I'll love Nova Scotia - it is like Alaska.  Well, hope not too much right.....

Heart 3 Comment 0

Well, the rig and I made it to Bangor ME and camp.  It was a four hour bus ride, but not bad.  We watched to movies!   Tomorrow getting a ride to Bar Harbor to catch the CAT Ferry to Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.   It is a 3 hour ride on a really cool fast ferry.   (See link in an early post…)

Good nite campers….  

Heart 2 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerCool shot. Day 1 down.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerThanks
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Tamora StumYea!! Nice Train Conductor. Don't forget anything when you depart to your next bus ride.... Love T
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Daniel SpanglerNorthbound now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerHalf way there, just ordered wood for a fire!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Tamora StumHe was understanding...and I was kind - like Tamora. I ordered wood for tonight I'll need to rest my bones after a warm long shower
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Tamora StumRest your riding bones hubby!! Glad you made it as planned. Love "T"
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerHi Tamora, I moved camp due to forecasted rain. A pavilion nearby will make take down a lot easier tomorrow.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerType your comment here
Reply to this comment
1 year ago