Day 19: Hat Samran - La-Ngu - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 28, 2018

Day 19: Hat Samran - La-Ngu

Very short post on a completely uninspiring day. Nothing nasty like never ending roadworks but almost zero visual entertainment while on a wide highway shoulder with very fast traffic next to me.  Therefore I wasn´t too unhappy to have a fast day myself as the forecast was for heavy downpours in the afternoon again. In the end I made it to my destination with dry feet. But only just....

La-Ngu is a sleepy country town but I like the atmosphere of those settlements away from any attractions. Decent accommodation (Dahla the Resort, 500 Baht), decent food and very friendly people. More than enough for just one night. I am still undecided whether I will make into Malaysia tomorrow or probably have another night somewhere on the way to the border taking me through the Thale Ban National Park. 

A last coffee on the beach. Can´t wait to be back in a few months with ....
Heart 2 Comment 0
....the unbelievably hospitable owners of the Hat Samran Resort. Jedda (on the right) runs the place with her husband; her sister Dee and her husband own a wonderful property right next to the resort, where I was invited for dinner last night. I really was treated like a member of the family. Takes travelling to a different level....
Heart 2 Comment 0
If the ride itself doesn´t allow for some nice pics, the friendly locals are always more than happy to help out. Like this proud owner of the bull....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...or the ladies running the broome shop
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here it comes! Doesn´t look too threatening yet but will do so soon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hat Samran - La-Ngu
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 91 km (57 miles)
Total: 1,507 km (936 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0