Day 18: Trang - Hat Samran - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 23, 2018

Day 18: Trang - Hat Samran

Another day on the road I thoroughly enjoyed despite the not very exciting scenery along my route! A few reasons for that I guess. Ever since I left Koh Lanta I am definitely off the major tourist track. This has impact on my whole day as the locals are accordingly not used to foreigners as much as they are on Phuket or Koh Lanta. I notice this  when riding along and they do shout their Hellos at me again or the person on the passenger seat gives me the thumb up while passing by.  I am not after it but it certainly feels good to be appreciated.

Saying before today was not much of a ride is not entirely accurate. While I was having a noodle soup in Yan Ta Kao I had a look at google maps and saw the option to get down to the #4235 on the #3093. And that was a really nice interval indeed as the photos should prove.

I do like Hat Samran as much as Hat Pakmeng. Just and only Thai people and the Hat Sam Resort is run by two elderly brothers and their sister and the two staff are real angels. I absolutely adore the resort and the beach itself, although the water will be almost 1 km away on low tide and provides anything but ideal swiming conditions even on high tide. But the walking on the mud flats is fantastic. For me it will be the last considerable stop before Malaysia and that´s why I will be here for four nights.

The parade floats of the temples are always very rich in detail and colour
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trang is another city I do like better with any visit. On all big intersections around town you will find attractive installations referring to either the history of the province or tourist attractions
Heart 1 Comment 0
This one on the other side of Hway 404 is flying the flag for cyclists
Heart 2 Comment 0
And the #404 itself is not bad at all either
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along the #3093
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Further along the #3093
Heart 2 Comment 0
I never get tired stopping at their nurseries. A lot of kitsch but always a colourful feast for the eyes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plantations? Yes. Monotonous? No!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hat Samran
Heart 2 Comment 0
My beachfront bungalow at the Hat Samran Resort
Heart 2 Comment 0
Home Office 2.0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Khun Sunit, one of the three siblings owning the Hat Samran Resort, pursuing his low-tide hobby
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trang - Hat Samran
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 1,396 km (867 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0