Day 17: Hat Pak Meng - Trang - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 22, 2018

Day 17: Hat Pak Meng - Trang

What a glorious start into the day! I decided not to take the direct route into Trang but ride down the coast and make some enquiries at the Koh Muk Pier first. I have heard good comments about that small island just off the mainland and might well pay a visit when I come back up here in April. It´s such a wonderful ride down there along the #4162. Always the sea in sight and basically no traffic.

The short visit to the Koh Muk Pier supported my intention to go there. All friendly people and one captain with decent English told me the boats go every two hours (like 10 am, 12 pm, 2 pm) and take 30 minutes to get there. Me and my bicycle would have cost 150 Baht and what I saw was a real ferry not a longtail boat which can be a problem when cyclists and all their gear have to be transported.

The second part of the ride up the #4008 and #403 was nowhere near as nice but still an acceptable ride. After the experience in Pakmeng I had pre-booked the Chomtrang Hotel directly next to the station and I am very happy with the outcome. The rooms with balcony and fridge are far more spacious than the narrow design of the building indicates. One advice: If you wish to have a room with a large, entirely private balcony facing the street/station ask for rooms no. 1,2,5,6,9 or 10. I paid 630 Baht through agoda, breakfast included. I think the Chomtrang is a good choice when in Trang, in particular if you leave by train.

And while I was directly next to the station I decided to walk over and find out what the actual train-options for cyclists towards Bangkok are. The extremely helpful gentleman at the ticket counter suggested the 1.29 pm and 5.25 pm trains, both obviously going overnight arriving at 5.30 am, 8.35 am respectively. Both trains do start here in Trang which I believe is always a bonus as it gives you more time to organize yourself and your gear than having just a 5 minute window at the inbetween stops. The 2nd class sleeper ticket comes at 831 Baht plus 120 for the bike. They even told me to have a look inside the train which was there waiting for departure. The 2nd class compartments are for 4 people whereas the 1st class has only 2 people in one. To me it didn´t really look worth almost double the money but possibly somebody who has more experience than me (=0) has got other ideas. Both trains should have their own luggage waggon, on the 5.25 pm one I saw it myself on the very front.

Now as all enquiries are made I will see what Loi Krathong has to offer. It´s usually a much quieter atmosphere than the water-spraying madness of Songkran.

Not a bad spot for a wedding. Unfortunately the party had confiscated all rooms in Hat Pakmeng and I had to leave earlier than intended. Which does not stop me from wishing the very best to the newly-weds!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Dugongs are found along this particular coast and subject of many statues in the Trang Province
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the #4162
Heart 2 Comment 0
Further along the #4162
Heart 5 Comment 0
This section of the #4162 is officially called "The Tree Tunnel"
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was tempted.....
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
My two favourite vegetables for lunch. I do actually not know the English names for both but they are both kale I understand. It is more important to be able to order them in Thai anyway! On the left Pad Pak Kanaa Nahm Anhoy (kale in oyster sauce) and the main dish is Pad Pak Bung Moo (pork curry with the other kale). How could this day go wrong anymore?
Heart 3 Comment 0
Down at the Koh Muk Pier
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is not Thailand´s answer to Huckleberry Finn but the captain (or driver as he called himself) of one of the Koh Muk ferries. And by no means as grumpy as he looks on the photo. Just the opposite!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
And one more in honour of my reliable company
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Chomtrang Hotel with the station directly behind me. There is a huge building site between the two but that caused no molestation at all.
Heart 1 Comment 0
At Trangs Cinta Market
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dressed up for Loi Krathong
Heart 3 Comment 0
A lot of extra trading on Loi Krathong....
Heart 1 Comment 0
But in the end it is all about the floats (Krathong) and...
Heart 2 Comment 0
....sending them off with the plea for forgiveness and best wishes for the future.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hat Pak Meng - Trang via Koh Muk Pier
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 1,336 km (830 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0