Rest day at Hat Pak Meng - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 21, 2018

Rest day at Hat Pak Meng

I am really disappointed I can only stay two nights here at the Pakmeng Guesthouse. Even moving to another resort is no option as it is not only Loi Krathong tomorrow but there will be a huge wedding in the restaurant next door, obviously demanding all rooms available along the beach. Never mind, I will almost definitely be back on my way up to Myanmar in April.

This morning I was out on the beach for a run in the first sun, followed by a swim and a coffee sitting in the sand. So extremely relaxed the atmosphere here, hard to put it into words. At noon Pom (the organic farmer I met yesterday) picked me up and took me over to their farm. They have only been doing this for two years now and still suffer massive losses by rot, mildew and bug attacks. Impressive to see the confidence and steadfastness she and her family show. As a public servant I never had to worry about my monthly pay cheque and pull my hat off these young entrepreneurs.

Let me finish with a plea: Don´t go past Pakmeng Beach if you will ever come to this part of Thailand!

Another bonus point for Pakmeng Beach! Every morning dozens of the restaurant and resort staff are out there sweeping the sand
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is the clear indication I am on what I call a Thai beach. Double sun protection and big tables for masses of food.
Heart 2 Comment 0
One of the exciting products Pom and her family are trying to cultivate, the rare purple banana. Said to be sweet and sour at the same time, unfortunately not ripe enough for tasting yet.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another one I had never heard about, the Thai Olive
Heart 2 Comment 0
As we are in Thailand I was not going to leave without any presents. White eggplant in this case. I later gave them to the ladies in the excellent little restaurant in Sikao and in return got....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...this fantastic fish curry (Phla Pad Pik Pao)
Heart 3 Comment 0
The same spectacular scenario like last night. The weather pattern seems to be stabilizing: Sunny mornings and early afternoons but then the black clouds move in around sunset and will deliver soon after
Heart 2 Comment 0
I said before I should be more adventurous when I stay in these seafood paradises but I like this combination so much, I simply can´t resist ordering it: Grilled squid with kale in oyster sauce. Divine!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0