Finally back in Thailand! - Frankie goes to.....the Gulf of Thailand (2022) - CycleBlaze

December 23, 2021

Finally back in Thailand!

After a two-week stopover in Australia

I spare you the details on all the flight and entry-permission cancellations over the last few months, some of them with very short notice. In the end I consider myself very lucky to have come back to my permanent Plan A which is seeing my friend and former school exchange partner Glyn in Bowral near Sydney on the way. Australia - or New South Wales more specifically -  had fortunately opened up unilateral for visitors coming from New Zealand. Not without any Omicron restrictions though: Full vaccination proof goes without saying; approval of Australia Travel Declaration; negative PCR test within 72  hours of departure; PCR tests within 24 hours and 6 days after arrival; 3 days of self-isolation.  I guess that´s the travel preparation beyond visa applications we all better get used to....

Even more paperwork and tests required for my successive flights to Bangkok via Singapore. Even for the 2 hours of transit at Singapore´s Changi Airport you need a negative PCR test but obviously no extra expenses as I could use the one I needed for the entry into Thailand anyway.... 

Enough  on applying and testing? I agree but most importantly I managed to make it into Thailand before the current Omicron variant might be shutting any travelling down once again. Only yesterday (Dec 22) the Thai government suspended the quarantine-free Test&Go programme that I got in on.

 All the same I wish to run you through the process of getting my Thailand Pass (formerly Certificate of Entry), which is an essential document for most of us entering the country on the above mentioned Test&Go scheme:

1. Visa

Pre-condition if you wish to stay longer than 30 days. I went for the 60 day tourist option "TR60" which can be extended once for another 30 days for 1900 Baht at any immigration office in the country. What surprised me when applying at the Thai embassy in Wellington was that I was asked for proof of accommodation for all 60 days. Hasn´t happened to me before but I was prepared and had my rental contract accompanied by copies of the landlord´s ID and the house registration on me. I guess this is just a formality and any free-cancellation booking through the usual platforms (ie. agoda, booking.com) will do.

2. Thailand Pass

Free of charge and - as I have an internationally recognized QR code of my vaccinations - took exactly two minutes until I had the approval in my email account. What you need to upload when applying  is:

2.1 Proof of full vaccination,preferrably the QR code

2.2 Proof of health insurance with specific mentioning of Covid treatment coverage (min. US$ 50000). I made several enquiries and found the AXA Sawasdee Thailand online policy the easiest one to come by and the least expensive as well. My 60 day coverage came at 3700 Baht (97 € / 108 US$) and the policy with the precise wording needed was in my email account instantly.

2.3 Proof of a pre-paid Test&Go accommodation package for the first night. The packages have to include direct transport from the airport to the hotel; PCR test on arrival in the hotel plus all meals until the test result is in. Which I was told usually takes less than 24 hours. Regardless of the quality of hotel the prices seemed to be very similar and I went for the 5 star  "The Berkeley Pratunam" at 4700 Baht. Does sound very expensive but if you break it down to the various positions included it´s not that bad. Actually still cheaper than the PCR test-only in New Zealand and Australia! My test was done in my room at 10 pm and the result was back by 8 am the next morning. I would then have been allowed to move freely all over Thailand but stayed another two nights in the hotel.

As I mentioned above that Thailand Pass (a giant QR Code) is absolutely essential and was checked several times, starting on my checkin in Sydney.

Yesss, it's happening!!! As I already said on my Facebook post: I never thought I would celebrate having received a boarding pass! FYI: The eagle above me with Gandalf sitting on his neck is part of the highly attractive interior design at Wellington Airport, honouring Peter Jackson, son of the New Zealand capital and director of the Lord of the Rings movies.
Heart 5 Comment 0
One of the must-photos when visiting Australia.....
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have never seen Circular Quay that quiet on a summer´s day
Heart 2 Comment 0
Down in Sydney's Botanical Garden
Heart 1 Comment 0
While I am hardly doing any cycling myself, I might as well get some inspiration by Glyn´s eldest son Owen, who has just completed the 150 km of the very challenging Bowral Classic.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It used to be a visa for Australia (online), another one for Thailand - done! Now all this plus several PCR tests. Get lost, Covid!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Back in Bangkok! I really enjoy the ferry rides on the klongs, here boarding at the Pratunam Pier. The white towers in the background are "my" Berkeley Hotel
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another must-do while in Bangkok is climbing up to Wat Saket, as...
Heart 2 Comment 0
....it offers stunning 360° views over the skyline.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Arriving in Trang with what might well be the last rain and cooler temperatures for a while.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Andrea BrownWas your bicycle with you on these flights or did you have one stashed in Thailand somewhere? Enjoy Thailand, we are right jealous of you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Andrea BrownI have been permanently renting a house in Trang for a few years now, Andrea. Originally meant to be my storage place, now my "home" in Thailand.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago