Day 68: Ban Krut - Sananwan Beach - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 25, 2018

Day 68: Ban Krut - Sananwan Beach

Routing: # 4056, 3169, 3374

Three lessons learned today:

-a navigation error can come to my advantage

-having time in hand is the most valuable asset when travelling

-not any shrimp farm territory is horrible

I was almost sad when I left my bungalow at the Ruenthalay Resort this morning. Definitely a must-stay when I will be cycling along this coast in the future. On the other hand I was keen to ride this particular attractive section between here and Chumphon. I haven´t done it as often as others, one gentleman in particular, but often enough to know about the pleasure of turning the pedals along these coastal side roads.

Cracking start right from Ban Krut along the pretty resorts south of the village. For some reason the asphalt is breaking on those first km but it doesn´t spoil the fantastic palm tree/beach experience in the very slightest. Once you approach Bang Saphan the route looks a bit tricky but realistically it is a logical process with just one turn you really have to look out for but the sign for the right move onto the #3169 is very obvious.

When you roll along the #3169 through Bang Saphan you will see the large green sign for Chumphon where you turn left onto the #3374. Right on that corner is a small restaurant/cafe who does a most delicious Kwoi Tiau Nuea (beef). Don´t go past! The following ride along the #3374 used to be nicer but with the brand new seal it is at least very easy rolling despite a couple of small undulations.

Now, time to talk about my navigation error. After the 3374 does a double 90 degree curve just before Bang Saphan Noi I had to go left onto the 1015 at the 7eleven. I was actually aiming for Hat Laem Son, recommended by the aforementioned gentleman. There is a huge sign for it too but for some unidentified reason (too much sun?, too many Leo?, too stupid?) I took the wrong road and ended up where I am now. When I spotted the Sananwan Beach B&B on my left I decided to have a look despite the shrimp farms on the inland site of the road as I could see the well maintained compound and their frangipani alley leading to the beach. I would not have considered staying if the young Thai caretakers wouldn´t offer dinner at night as there is nothing else in the vicinity.  As it is they have quite a good menu for breakfast and dinner and what I ordered was very nice. And I really do like my 400 B fan room (have a look at the fantastic bathroom!) and the completely deserted beach. Two nights please as I do still have enough time for my songkran-avoidance-ride down to Samui!

Just south of Ban Krut Village
Heart 4 Comment 0
How delightful!
Heart 5 Comment 0
I couldn´t believe the parents let that girl (and her unicorn) struggle in the surf by herself
Heart 1 Comment 0
The appearance of clouds will be a regular thing from now on but so far it has always only rained in the late afternoon or at night
Heart 1 Comment 0
My favourite combination: palm trees and mangroves
Heart 2 Comment 0
Shelter from the rough sea for the small fishing boats
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mae Ram Phueng pier
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sustainable fishing....
Heart 3 Comment 0
...unfortunately not rewarded with a catch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the #4056
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the #4056
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the #4056 approaching Bang Saphan
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looks odd - tastes divine! Kwoi Tiau Nuea
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the #1015
Heart 2 Comment 0
Alone along the "wrong turn" track, basically shortcutting the #1015
Heart 4 Comment 0
My bathroom, which is basically a separate room that you do enter via the terrace. It is open towards my private garden, sheltered by a huge flyscreen, not visible in this photo. Showering de-luxe!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Ban Krut - Sananwan Beach
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 5,187 km (3,221 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0