re-TYREd! - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

November 25, 2017

re-TYREd!

Back in action after 3 years of injury suspension

With my headline I am trying to address two issues at the same time:

1. On Dec 1, 2017 I will be retired premature due to a dysfunctional left shoulder. Two operations and countless days of rehabilitation could not restore my ability to conduct police duties. Certainly not the end to my career I would have asked for; in particular not if I take the financial impact into account.  Anyways, nothing I can do about it and the other, much brighter side of the medal is the fact that I will be a "free" man from next Friday on. 

Heart 2 Comment 0

2.   The "tyre" reference comes from the intention to use that upcoming freedom to be back on two rubber coated wheels. I am still extremely restricted with my left arm but the one exercise I can perform is......cycling. Sounds weird as the whole damage to that left shoulder has been inflicted by two bicycle accidents in 1991 and 2014. But, when sitting on a bicycle, there is no humerus rotation required which is the key for me being free of pain. In addition I had advice from occupational therapists regarding my position on the bike which helped a lot. Let´s see whether all that is good enough to spend day in-day out in the saddle again.

Bike and gear are packed; flights are booked for Dec 3.  May my pre-departure plan come true!

Starting in Chiang Rai I will be headed for the Mekong, following the majestic river down to its delta in Vietnam. From there it is along the Gulf of Thailand to Penang, the final destination on this ride.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Seatpost, pedals and front wheel out; handlebar attached to the side - my Koga Miyata World Traveller is ready for boxing.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bruce LellmanFrank,
Andrea and I are so excited to see that you will be on the road again. We are so sorry that your injuries never healed completely but happy that you can ride. We are very much looking forward to follow you on your trip. Good luck and we will be in touch.
Bruce
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bruce LellmanVery kind of you, Bruce! I was as excited to find both of you are active on this site too - even more reason to make it my regular one. I hope to meet Andrea and you in person at some stage - the sooner the better! Best regards from Germany (for 6 more days only!!!) Frank
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Bill StoneHi Frank,

You are an inspiration! My right shoulder unexpectedly exploded for no apparent reason a couple of months ago. Now I'm learning to ride safely with one good arm. Seeing you on the road gives me hope.

Have fun and ride safe.

PS: More on my bum shoulder here: bike365.org/news/
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bill StoneThank you, Bill. My problem was/is a shoulder arthritis, inflicted by an accident in 1991; "activated" by another bicycle accident in 2014. I have denied to have an implant yet as this might well be the end of my cycling days whereas now I have an angle of approx. 20 degrees abduction where I am pain free (more or less) and I have set up my bicycles accordingly. All the best for your further recovery!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago