Day 67: Prachuap Kiri Khan - Ban Krut - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 22, 2018 to March 24, 2018

Day 67: Prachuap Kiri Khan - Ban Krut

Routing: # 3167, 4, 1048, 1029

What a difference a day makes! The essential factor over the last few days, the wind, had moved a touch towards the east and was therefore only half of the way against me but gave some support as well. Plus the ride itself was far more enjoyable despite the 35 km along Hway 4. I would have said several times now that I don´t really mind the Thai highways if I can´t avoid them and down here in the South the Phetkasem Road is actually quite nice with a lot of dense vegetation on the sides and even on the median.

But what really made my day was the rather weird but cracking start through the Thai Royal Air Force compound and along Ao Manao Beach. Don´t get put off by the Military Police at the gate to the airfield. You just stop, sign in the book and roll through the very well kept facility, later crossing the actual airstrip. There is another guard nowadays making sure no photos are taken there which is a shame as it is indeed a very peculiar situation. I do always sign myself out again when leaving through the southern gate, you never know with the military and data gathering....

There will be two y-junctions in succession, always take the left option until you come to the car park of the aquarium where you have to turn right towards Hway 4. As I said even those 35 km went by fast due to the supportive wind on that stretch and the visual entertainment. The last time I had cycled through to the junction with the #1029 taking you straight down to Ban Krut. With plenty of time in hand today I decided to leave the highway one earlier onto the #1048 taking me down to Lamkum Beach. Very nice ride along there and well worth the few extra km. Once back over the railway tracks turn left towards the #1029 for the last few km to Ban Krut Beach. I was keen to stay in the Phrao Thai Resort again, but they were full. Very disappointing and when I asked they said it is "holidays". Not sure which ones but I had to look for another option anyway. Once again Jan was my helping hand. He had sent me a mail a few days ago, recommending the Ruenthalay Resort on the very northern end of the beach. The owner, Bingo, is a smart guy who came over to my bungalow after I had accepted his mothers quote of 1600 Baht for two nights. He said if Iwould stay three nights I could have it for 600 per day. Yes, please! They have three rows of 4 identical bungalows, all well equipped with fridge and aircon and a few others facing the sea. Good place!

Having my morning coffee in front of my hotel
Heart 5 Comment 0
An early start allows for photos with that special morning atmosphere
Heart 6 Comment 0
Ao Manao Beach
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the #3167
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hway 4. Great shoulder, plenty of shade
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along #1048
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along #1048
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lamkum Beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along #1029
Heart 3 Comment 0
The middle row of bungalows at the Ruenthalay Resort. I deliberately asked for one in the back as it is weekend and large groups of Thai will populate the tables along the beach with several bottles of whisky getting consumed
Heart 5 Comment 0
The northern end of Ban Krut Beach. My resort is the very last one
Heart 3 Comment 0
The middle section of the beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jan, is this the noodle soup stall you were talking about? That´s a great thing in Thailand: Next door are the top resorts of Ban Krut and here you get a delicious kwoi tiau for 30 Baht right on the beach
Heart 4 Comment 2
jan houtermansI think it is the stall I mentioned. Is it at the turnoff from the beach road to the 7/11 ?
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo jan houtermansIt is, Jan. If you come down from the resort you don't turn right for the 7eleven but keep going south and then it is immediately on the left. Great place, lovely owner - didn't expect that in a touristy place like Ban Krut. Great recommendation!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Prachuap Kiri Khan - Ban Krut
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 5,137 km (3,190 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0