Day 46: Tra Vinh - Nga Bay - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 18, 2018

Day 46: Tra Vinh - Nga Bay

Routing: #HL 13, DT 911, 912, QL 60, QL 91C, HL 5, DT 1, HL 2, HL 4, QL 1A

While the Gia Hoa Hotel 2 in Tra Vinh last night was my most expensive hotel in Vietnam so far at 400000 dong, tonight I am staying at the cheapest place.  The Phuong Nam Guesthouse charges only 180000 dong for a decent a/c room with terrace, hot water, wifi and even flat screen tv with good sports channels. Still both places were no deliberate choices. Tra Vinh was very busy due to New Year and even in the Gia Hoa I was lucky to get the last available room. Tonight it was almost getting dark when I got into town but for a very good reason! Another most enjoyable day out there on the bike. All conditions were right, even the wind was fully supportive and the clouds in the sky made for perfect cycling tempertures.

The list of my route certainly looks rather confusing but they were mostly logical turns and I only had to get my gps out very few times. I will spare you with repeating all turns and numbers here - I picked the route entirely on google maps and you can follow up there if you wish. So I will try to let the photos tell the story of the day again. As I said above the sun was about to set on arrival in Nga Bay and as google maps only offered me one choice in the town center I rode straight to the Phuong Nam Hotel  and was  happy with the price - value ratio. Looks a bit like a dodgy place but I enjoyed sitting on the terrace even if I  looked onto the foot of the concrete bridge I came over on. Busy little market town it is but like many other cities in this part of the world it came to rest soon after dark.

Along the #HL13: Reclining rooftop Buddha....
Heart 2 Comment 0
....and the impressive temple with it
Heart 3 Comment 1
Leo van NoortWow beautiful !
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Shame nobody looks after this one anymore
Heart 4 Comment 0
#HL13
Heart 1 Comment 0
#DT911
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along #DT912
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along #DT912
Heart 1 Comment 0
Springrolls to be
Heart 1 Comment 0
My very last ferry about to site. Farewell Mekong and thank you very much for the fantastic time I had since we first met in Chiang Khan/Thailand 8 weeks ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
My lunch: Bun Nuoc Leo. My new favourite!
Heart 2 Comment 0
#HL5
Heart 1 Comment 0
Absolutely beautiful....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...and I bet you if I should come back here next year there will not be one single graffity on it
Heart 2 Comment 0
Otherwise they will just hose it off
Heart 2 Comment 0
Equal rights to all religions: Chinese temple
Heart 1 Comment 0
And the very highlight at the end of the day: The start of the #HL2
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
HL5
Heart 1 Comment 0
I tell you, if somebody in Germany would let his bananas grown into the street he would be in trouble!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nga Bay
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nga Bay
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tra Vinh - Nga Bay
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 88 km (55 miles)
Total: 3,673 km (2,281 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0