Day 47: Nga Bay - Vi Thanh - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 19, 2018

Day 47: Nga Bay - Vi Thanh

Routing: DT927, QL 61, 61B

And another great day! Vietnam is really impressing me. I can only try to anticipate what it would all be like without the New Year related traffic and - even worse - karaoke. It really is a factor as they have walls of speakers in every second house and scream their lungs out.  And believe me, the quality of performances is extremely far below average to my western ears. They are enjoying it though and that´s what counts- I am in Vietnam and not in Germany!

How delightful would that #927 be without all that noise? Hard to imagine as I loved it as it is. The road runs directly next to that canal all 27 km and is lined with tropical vegetation and lovely little houses. Most enjoyable. Even the two Highway 61 and 61B sections were ok as the traffic was as usual well behaved. Short day on the road and it didn´t take me long to find a very pleasant accommodation as well. The family run Khách Sạn Phong Nhã had a well equipped room with balcony for 200000 dong for me. And I can hardly blame them for the eunuch chanting from the property opposite...

When I stopped at this cafe just out of Nga Bay I sort of sensed it might become a very relaxed day
Heart 5 Comment 0
The #927
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
There were dozens of these little canal ferries. All causing the same sort of turmoil as the Vietnamese stop their scooters wherever they wish to do their business. You have to be on alert all day long
Heart 2 Comment 0
Somebody told them I am coming
Heart 3 Comment 0
But the owner of the beer wholesale business thought I should have something healthy too...
Heart 2 Comment 0
...and sent me off with an annual dose of vitamin c
Heart 3 Comment 0
I had to have one excursion to the other side...
Heart 4 Comment 0
...and it was well worth it
Heart 2 Comment 0
I told you it was going to be a relaxed day
Heart 5 Comment 0
Yeesss! Guess which way I was going? I did the last 15 km into Vi Thanh in less than 30 minutes
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the QL 61B
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mrs. Buffalo was clearly not happy with me getting that close
Heart 7 Comment 0
Vi Thanh
Heart 2 Comment 0
Vi Thanh
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pho Bo time again
Heart 4 Comment 0
Nga Bay - Vi Thanh
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 3,722 km (2,311 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
jan houtermansWenn ich Deine Eintraege und Bilder so sehe, werde ich ein wenig neidisch und bereue, dass ich mich kurzfristig dagegen entschieden habe, ins Mekongdelta zu reisen. Sieht alles so bunt, lebendig und froehlich aus, wurlig und geschaeftig. Viel Freude noch und halte immer Ausschau nach Lautsprechertuermen und Karaokemaschinen.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo jan houtermansJan, Dir altem Reise-Haudegen brauche ich Vietnam nicht zu erklären, aber das Wort Hassliebe passt mich für mich hier besser als irgendwo anders. Wenn man sich die Zeit nimmt und Strecken fährt die irgendwas mit Wasser zu tun haben (Mekong oder Kanäle) kriegst Du sekündlich (wirklich!) Gelegenheit für ein schönes Foto, weil es einfach permanent passiert, das Leben. Aber dann ist da natürlich der Lärm- und sonstige Verschmutzungsfaktor. Aber da ich mich bisher nicht eine Sekunde unsicher auf der Strasse gefühlt habe, geht mein Daumen für Vietnam ohne Wenn und Aber nach oben. Aber jetzt will ich dann doch erstmal ein wenig Ruhe und nütze die 30 Tage meines Visums nicht aus. Mal gucken ob ich die in Sihanoukville finde, sonst geht´s zügig nach Thailand. Aber irgendwie weiss ich jetzt schon, dass ich die Kanalfahrten in Bälde vermissen werde. Skurriles Geschäft unser radeln, oder? Lieben Gruss! Frank
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Jeff ArnimThe wonderful photographs just go on and on and on. So beautiful, so inspiring. Great work!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Jeff ArnimThank you very much, Jeff. I believe the key is to have the provision to post full size photos. So I wish to return the compliment! Frank (currently Ha Tien/VN)
Reply to this comment
6 years ago