Day 45: Ben Tre - Tra Vinh - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 17, 2018

Day 45: Ben Tre - Tra Vinh

Routing: #887, 25, 57, 24, 14, 53

What a glorious day! When I was looking for a more promising alternative to the 52 kilometers straight down the QL 60 I really had to zoom into google maps to find the final two ferry connections I have been using today. The resulting 30 extra kilometers didn´t bother me at all, the eager anticipation of the additional ferry rides and riding my bike on two Mekong islands exceeded the extra effort by far.

When I got onto the 3-digit #887 I was initially disappointed about the considerable amount of traffic but I guess I picked the big travel day of their New Year festive season. More or less any motorbike was equipped with presents and suitcases so people seemed to be on the way to visit their families. Completely hassle free for me though and the further south I got the more quiet it got as well.

After 40 enjoyable kilometers despite the vicious southeasterly I got into Ba Tri where I had to turn right for the first ferry of the day. And I am only mentioning this particular turn because from there on it was one of the best days on the bike I can remember. Completely off the beaten track with people flagging me down to have a photo taken with their kids, great iced coffees for 6000 dong and, and, and... I hope the photos will at least partially renarrate the visual delights of this outstanding day.

The delightful #887
Heart 2 Comment 0
If only that stiff breeze would have blown the pink flags in the other direction
Heart 1 Comment 0
A member of the Vietnamese National Team is taking the lead
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the #887
Heart 2 Comment 0
It´s predominantly rice and coconuts they grow down here
Heart 3 Comment 0
When I had a soup at this Pho Bo restaurant they sent over one of their staff who introduced herself with: I speak English. - She didn´t but just kept hassling me with the same sort of questions like anybody else: What your name? - Where you from?. I answered it all patiently but was happy to leave when I had finished my soup and asked for: "The bill, please!". I could see the hesitation in her face but she walked away and after a 10 minute wait she came back with this one......Hilarious!
Heart 5 Comment 0
You shouldn´t be claustrophobic when using Vietnamese ferries...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...or going for a swim with Vietnamese ducks
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the first Mekong island
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the many lovely properties on that island
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
This keeps amazing me. You start wondering whether you are still right and then comes the sign for the ferry (ben pha) in the middle of nowhere
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mekong island no. 2 had the best terminal
Heart 2 Comment 0
The last and most relaxed crossing for the day
Heart 2 Comment 0
This happy captain had to steer the ferry with his feet as he needed both hands for smoking and mobile phone
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the #14
Heart 3 Comment 0
The park right opposite my Gia Hoa Hotel 2 (400000 dong)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tra Vinh....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...or Paris?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ben Tre - Tra Vinh
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 km (51 miles)
Total: 3,585 km (2,226 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0