Rest day in Ben Tre - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 16, 2018

Rest day in Ben Tre

I completely misjudged the situation today. It would have been an excellent day for cycling as Ben Tre´s streets are almost deserted and most shops and restaurant are closed. I guess that counts for the rest of the country too.  Never mind, the other reasons for staying an extra night are still valid and being outside without that continuous noise level is relaxing as such. 

As I just said, most restaurants are closed and while I was roaming the streets of Ben Tre in search for food I spotted some soup bowls and the typical setup of a Pho stall in a side road near the pond. And was served the best noodle soup I ever had. I am sure I said exactly the same a few times before but this one was the best. Trust me, I consider myself an expert on noodle soups - my staple food while cycling.

Well nothing else to report, truly a rest day, mostly spent on my observation deck. With Tra Vinh being my target tomorrow....

00.01 h
Heart 3 Comment 0
00.45 h
Heart 2 Comment 0
06.15 h
Heart 4 Comment 0
For the second time in 2018
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entertainment for children....
Heart 1 Comment 0
....and adults. This one really made me laugh! When you throw at the tins at home there are teddy bears or other nonsense at stake. Here you may win beer, cigarettes or sweetened milk for the ubiquitous coffees
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
If you ever come to Ben Tre you MUST have a Pho Bo at this restaurant in the street "Le Quin Don". For dessert you will find a lovely little patisserie two doors further on towards the pond
Heart 2 Comment 0
I wonder whether there are sommelier type of people who can actually taste the difference between all these types of rice?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Art deco traffic camera
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0