Kercabellec to Rochefort-en-Terre - French Fling - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2019

Kercabellec to Rochefort-en-Terre

Not much to say about this ride.  I’m writing this two days later (wrist slap), and frankly, it wasn’t particularly memorable. I do remember noticing that the dam at Arzal seemed to be a huge tourist attraction, but maybe that was more the lake behind the dam?  Marzan, where I bought my lunch supplies, seemed like a pleasant village.  There was nowhere pleasant in Caden to eat my lunch, so I sat on a rock beside the cemetery car park in the shade. 

Marzan
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marzan
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rochefort-en-Terre did not, I think, quite live up to its reputation.  It was definitely pretty, but there’s very little there. I walked around the château grounds and was intrigued enough to visit the Naia museum (unique en France!).  I'll let see what you think in the photos below.

The central tower of the château
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Rooftops of Rochefort-en-Terre from the ramparts
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks intriguing...
Heart 0 Comment 0
And I'd seen this from the ramparts
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Naia Museum
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Naia Museum
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Naia Museum. Lots of these sculptures moved or glowed or had pulsating lights (or all three).
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Naia Museum. I was afraid to touch it to see what it did.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Naia Museum. This one was down in the cellar.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Naia Museum. I hadn't realized this thing was a puzzle (though the small print on the banner outside said so). This woman sells the tickets and runs the little museum shop. I guess the admission time had ended.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked around town, looking at the beautiful buildings.

Rochefort-en-Terre. The stairs go up and through the ramparts into the château grounds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rochefort-en-Terre
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rochefort-en-Terre
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rochefort-en-Terre
Heart 0 Comment 0
Real houses, Rochefort-en-Terre
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another beautiful staircase, Rochefort-en-Terre
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rochefort-en-Terre, no longer a fortress
Heart 0 Comment 0

While I walked around, I was also checking out restaurants.  There were very few that weren’t crêperies.  And then it turned out that most were either closed all day or only did lunch. By the time I learned this, the crêperies were closing. Luckily, one place did serve food in the evening, a good thing for me and the others staying at the campground or the various chambres d’hôte in the village. (I couldn’t tell whether the hotel was open.)

Salad for dinner (trying to get my veggies) and reasonably early to bed. 

Actually, that gives me something to say about restaurant meals in France.  When you go the the markets on market day, there is so much lovely fresh produce. It looks so good!  Yet when you go to a restaurant, there are rarely any vegetables on your plate!  Unless you order a salad, or there's a bit of "salad" with your plat, and even then it's only lettuce.  What gives?

Not included: my short ride to and from Rochefort-en-Terre
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 1,871 km (1,162 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0