Rest day in Kercabellec - French Fling - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2019

Rest day in Kercabellec

I had decided to take a day off and it was a good decision because today was very hot. The campground has nice tables under cover near the snack bar (not much in the way of snacks but decent coffee) so I set up with my maps to fine tune my plans for Brittany. 

That was another good decision because I discovered that somehow, when creating a course for the Saint-Nazaire to Saint-Malo leg, my next two destinations had been skipped.

I’m writing this three days later and maybe RideWithGPS was trying to tell me something!  I’ll get to that on the appropriate days. 

So, not much activity. I caught up on the journal through yesterday, having found an app to reduce photo file size on my iPad without uploading first. 

Kercabellec is one of a group of villages that make up Mesquer.  I rode to another, Quimiac, which has a shop (Kercabellec doesn’t) for lunch supplies.  The little Coccinelle Express was crowded with tourists all doing the same thing.   I was out in the sun for maybe 20 minutes.  Long enough to get burnt!

Everybody else, it seemed, was going to the beach! This is one of the beaches in Quimiac
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode over to Quimiac again for dinner. Last night I ate in Kercabellec, at the Café du Port. It was the first place I tried, just after 7.  Too early. (I learned today that restaurants in this region don’t usually start serving food until after 7:30.). But I was hungry so I tried the other two restaurants in Kercabellec and the one in Mesquer, a 1.5 km walk away.  All were fully booked.    By the time I got back to Café du Port, it was busy with diners but there was room for me. 

For dinner tonight in Quimiac, I went to a crêperie.  I had my first galette (savoury crêpe) with a bolée of cider, plus a trio of small sweet crêpes for dessert. Yum!

Main course galette
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coffee with a trio of sweet crêpes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kercabellec's old port, where I ate last night (Café du Port)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Houses near the port, Kercabellec
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kercabellec
Heart 0 Comment 0
To the supérette and back. I put this in to show some of the conglomeration of communes making up Mesquer
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 13 km (8 miles)
Total: 1,816 km (1,128 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0