Day 21: Whitehorse to Twin Lakes - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2010

Day 21: Whitehorse to Twin Lakes

There was a light rain overnight, but the rain stopped early and the roads dried quickly. To make up for it, there was a steady tailwind all day.

I discovered a flaw with the tent (or the way I set it up). The groundsheet is not covered by the tent near the entrance. Rain falls onto the uncovered groundsheet and runs downhill under the tent and the tent gets wet. To work around this the tent should be set up so that if rain falls onto the groundsheet, it drains away from the tent. Putting a big stick under the groundsheet in the right place should solve that problem.

In terms of wildlife, I saw a porcupine near the road today.

In the evening, I discovered that my water proof matches would not light. I went around and asked two couples who were camping with their RVs if they could spare a match. We had a nice chat, and then they gave me a supply of matches that should last me for a while.

Later in the evening when I was in the tent getting ready to sleep, a gentleman came by. He said that there were no camp sites left and that his daughter was coming for the weekend. Seeing where he was headed, I suggested that she could park her vehicle at my camp site. He seemed grateful for that.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=61.70321,-135.93832&ll=61.70321,-135.93832&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

View near the 2000 km mark of trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Forest fire devastation
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of forest fire area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 134 km (83 miles)
Total: 2,092 km (1,299 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0