Introduction: A long time ago, in a place not so far away ... - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2010

Introduction: A long time ago, in a place not so far away ...

My plan began to form in 2009. I had cycled across Canada in 2001 from east (Cape Spear) to west (Tofino). I thought it would be a cool idea to cycle it from south (Point Pelee) to north (Inuvik at the top of the Dempster Highway). I had never been to the north and it seemed like it would be an interesting and challenging experience. Unfortunately, life intervened. My plan did not fit nicely with the my work duties. The project I was on did not slow down until September. At that point, it was too late to go on that trip and I really didn't have any other trip that I wanted to take at that point. I made the decision to hoard my vacation and use it the next year.

While dreaming about cycling I thought it might be nice to cycle up to Inuvik from Vancouver, like a number of journals I have read, and then cycle from Inuvik to Point Pelee. Vancouver is a beautiful city. Along the way, I realized that up north I would be just a few kilometers away from the the western-most point in Canada (the border with Alaska). If I was going to the furthest west (Alaska border), furthest north by road (Inuvik - in summer anyways) and furthest south on the mainland (Point Pelee), with a little more effort I could reach the furthest east (Cape Spear Newfoundland) too. And a ride was born - the 4 Corners of Canada. The only thing was I wasn't sure if I was up to it.

The question was where to start - east or west. I had started in the east in 2001, and it was very successful. The carrot in front of me was saving the most beautiful part for last - Banff, Jasper, BC and Vancouver. The problem with starting east this time would be the weather. I trust the weather out west in early June more that I trust the weather in Newfoundland then. I figured it would take me three months to get to Inuvik from Newfoundland. If I started in Newfoundland, it would be potentially quite cold up north. I tend to tolerate the heat better than I tolerate cold. If I started out west, I would have prevailing winds helping me. As an added bonus, if everything worked out, I could be in Inuvik for the Great Northern Arts Festival. I thought that it would be a great experience if it worked out. So, the decision was made to start in Vancouver. The only flaw with the plan was that I would be in the maritimes during hurricane season. In an act of breathtaking arrogance, I bought a ticket to Vancouver for Saturday June 5 and a return ticket from St. John's Nfld on October 3.

In general, I tried to be quiet about my plans. However, word did get out and the company I work for organized a charity event around the ride.

http://www.swi.com

http://gpsdon.blogspot.com

But enough talking.

Tour Route (roughly)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Gregory GarceauA cool and daring concept--exactly the kind of thing I dream about. Thank you for sharing this journal on Cycleblaze.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago