Day 20: Johnson Crossing to Whitehorse - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2010

Day 20: Johnson Crossing to Whitehorse

Thankfully, it stopped raining overnight. The skies were still grey when I headed out, but I can deal with that. I stopped in the restaurant to say goodbye before I headed out and told them optimistically that I would pull into Whitehorse in the sunshine today. It turned out that I was correct.

Today was a big day for meeting cyclists. I met a total of 7 cyclists headed the opposite direction.

When I stopped at Jake's Corner for a snack, I met a couple from Vancouver who started in Whitehorse and are headed back home.

A bit further on I met a young French couple who are cycling around the world for 3 years. They have visited Europe, Asia are now visiting North America and then are on their way to South America. It turned out they helped the cyclist from Taiwan that I met the other day. He started in Alaska and assumed that he could buy food in towns along the way. That was a mistake. When they found him he was too weak to cycle. So, they fed him for 5 days while they traveled together. They invited me to visit them if I am ever in Grenoble.

Shortly, thereafter I met another French couple cycling and while I was speaking to them a cyclist from BC came by.

Finally, just outside of Whitehorse a racing cyclist slowed down to speak to me. It turned out he and his wife had cycled across Canada from West to East in 2001. I told him I had done the same in the opposite direction, so we had probably waved at each other at some point. He recommended the Robert Service Campground. It's a nice place right on the river just a couple of kilometres from downtown Whitehorse. All the sites are walk-in, so you don't have to deal with cars there.

I followed the racing cyclist's advice and stayed at the Robert Service Campground ($18). It is is a very nice set up here.

Yesterday when I was shivering from the cold rain now seems a million miles away.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=60.70179,-135.04528&ll=60.70179,-135.04528&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 134 km (83 miles)
Total: 1,958 km (1,216 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0