Day 8 - to Husky Haven campground, Rockwood PA - Flower city->Steel city->Capital city - CycleBlaze

October 6, 2022

Day 8 - to Husky Haven campground, Rockwood PA

Miles: 51.3, Ascent: 2,166, Descent: 1,189

Took awhile to get going since I hit the grocery store and the local diner. Stopped in OhioPyle for lunch. Nice town that seems to be built around bikers and rafters. Arrived in the campground at 4:15 and decided to sleep under the stars

Met Cass on my way out of Connellsville. He is also from Rochester, small world
Heart 2 Comment 0
Artsy arch on the trail in Connellsville
Heart 3 Comment 0
A lot of the GAP trail looked like this. A green tunnel with the river to my left and steep embankment to my right
Heart 2 Comment 0
Seam of coal which is still mined in PA
Heart 3 Comment 0
849 foot Pinkerton tunnel. When I got to the middle it was nearly pitch black. I could not see my handlebars or top tube on my bike
Heart 2 Comment 0
I stayed at Husky Haven campground. The owners love Huskies and I had a chance to meet Zeus. Very friendly and loved to be scratched
Heart 3 Comment 0


Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Elizabeth HendersonGlad you are on the trail now. Safe travels - keep sending those great pictures!
XO
Reply to this comment
1 year ago