Lake Mary to the Maytown Road Trailhead Port-O-San - Stranger in a Strange Land - CycleBlaze

February 3, 2023

Lake Mary to the Maytown Road Trailhead Port-O-San

Day Five

No breakfast at the Courtyard by Marriott, but they did sell me a four dollar Starbucks.The morning was gray and cool. I left the hotel and rode through a corporate park over a fancy pedestrian bridge and towards the sidewalks of Sanford.

A bicycle bridge
Heart 4 Comment 0

  After a few miles I was riding through Gemini Springs and eventually, Green Springs.

Green Spring Gator
Heart 5 Comment 0

As I traveled through rural Volusia County, the wind picked up and the temperature dropped. A slight drizzle began. The rain increased in volume. I donned a wind shell. The rain increased in volume. I started to think about shelter; there was none. The trail markers were counting down in half mile increments. My hope was that there would be a bathroom or pavilion at zero. Around Mile Marker One, I encountered the Maytown Trailhead, which had a Port-O- San and nothing else.

  I tried propping open the Port-O-San door with the bicycle but the wind kept slamming the door all the way open and back into the bicycle. So I gave up that idea. Luckily, the Port-O-San was a larger, handicapped version. It didn’t smell that bad. I was grateful I had packed some extra clothes in a plastic bag but I had to contort myself to put on the dry clothes to avoid getting them wet. Why? Because the Port-O-San was at the end of the parking lot, all the water from the deluge flowed down the parking lot and through the Port-O-San. There was a pretty steady stream flowing over the floor. I was hoping it wouldn’t float away, with me in it.

   My good fortune held. I had cell service and called Mrs. Brown. She said the Googler told her she was a half hour out. The storm delayed her also. She said visibility was zero at times, even with the windshield wipers on high.

  I sheltered in the bathroom as the wind buffeted the plastic structure.

View from the Port-O-San
Heart 3 Comment 0

When Cathy arrived, I changed into some dry, clean clothes and cranked the heat in the car. Eventually, I loaded the bike and we headed into Titusville. We lunched at Dixie Crossroads. They have really good soup. I called it a day, bicycling wise.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 213 miles (343 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0