The Plan - Stranger in a Strange Land - CycleBlaze

The Plan

I have migrated to Florida for the winter. I’ve wanted to ride the Florida Coast-to-Coast trail since I first became aware of it in 2021. The trail connects existing trails in central Florida from Titusville on the Atlantic Space Coast to St. Petersburg on the Gulf Coast. There are  two short gaps and one large 40 mile gap in the network.

  I used the website https://www.100floridatrails.com/ and the Facebook site “Florida Coast-to-Coast (C2C) Trail” to initially help with planning. While I was working logistics Nanci J. Adler published “Florida’s Coast-to-Coast Trail Guide”. This book had all the info I needed and more. It is an excellent resource.

   While in Florida I have been riding a hybrid bike I picked up on Facebook Marketplace. It works fine and is luxurious with an upright riding style, a front suspension, a suspension seatpost, an overly plush saddle, two  inch tires and a big basket. Hopefully that saddle won’t bite me. This will be a credit card tour, my wonderful wife has agreed to drive the car as a SAG wagon. I will be riding from west to east, the opposite direction of the guide book, but I think I can handle it.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0