St. Petersburg to Tarpon Springs Florida - Stranger in a Strange Land - CycleBlaze

January 30, 2023

St. Petersburg to Tarpon Springs Florida

Day One

We left Sarasota with the bicycle on the roof around 8 AM. By the time we got to a St. Pete Marina parking lot, unloaded the car and rode to the end of St Pete’s Pier it was 9:30.

St. Pete pier, Betsy, rat trap
Heart 5 Comment 0

I texted my buddy Pierre who was going to meet me on the Pinellas Trail and ride with me to today's destination Tarpon Springs. Mrs. Brown would catch up with me later. She was headed to check out the Dali Museum, her departing words were, “Hello Dali”.

    After dipping my wheel in the bay, I rode the trail along the bay, then through the city on a protected bike lane. The urban infrastructure quickly lowered and spread out. I passed a stadium, an artsy warehouse district with some murals, and a huge high school. As the morning progressed, I passed a few empty malls, rode over a few bridges, encountered the Mushroom Guy and met Pierre out by Largo.

Mushroom Guy not Pierre
Heart 4 Comment 0

   We grabbed a nice lunch at The Home Plate right before entering the center of town. We ate alongside the bike path. The Pinellas Trail is a great ride with many of the larger roads bypassed with bridges. Pierre let me ride his Priority, belt driven, internal drive bicycle, a very nice ride. We rode into Tarpon Springs and stopped at the Better Days Brew Co. It was right on the trail, how could you not stop? Pierre had to head home to his tropical paradise and I had to find Mrs. Brown. I had booked a room at the Tarpon Shores Inn. I missed the turn and added a few miles to the day's total. Mrs. Brown loved the hotel calling it a “better quality dump”. In celebration I took her to some mediocre Greek food at Momma’s down by the Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks, about 2.5 miles from the hotel. All in all a great first day, it did get into the low 80’s and the tree canopy was scarce, but the trail and good company more than made up for the heat.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 44 miles (71 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0