Porz - Remagen: enough's enough - A Flanders Fling - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2017

Porz - Remagen: enough's enough

Hotel Lemp was an excellent hotel and served a fantastic hotel breakfast, a good start for a day on the Rhine Bicycle Path. We set out, but not in such high spirits as you might expect.

Hotel Lemp, highly recommended
Heart 1 Comment 0

The weather was a dreary grey, but that wasn't the problem. I again felt the symptioms of my infection, the UTI - and I really hate talking about it all the time but sadly it was a part of the trip, omitting it wouldn't make sense. This time I decided enough was enough, it was time to go home.

The path left the Rhine for a while.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Our first stop was at a supermarkt to stock up on water as I knew it was particularly important for me to keep well hydrated. We then had a ferry crossing across the Rhine and continued on the other side of the river. We made a plan. When we reached Bonn, we would simply get the train back to Munich. On Monday I would see my doctor. I was comforted at the prospect of getting proper treatment in my home surroundings.

We are not happy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When we got to Bonn, we headed for the train station. Then came the bad news. There wasn't a single train all weekend that had free places for bicycles! We felt kind of trapped.

I hardly took any pictures that day. The number of pictures I take is usually and indicator of my enthusiasm and that was at an all-time low. We were both immensely disappointed that our trip was coming to an end. We had all the time in the world and the cycling was going so well. We weren't chalking up a huge number of kilometers, but that wasn't the point. We loved being out on our bikes every day and seeing what would come next. We had ridden the Rhine Bike Path 12 years ago and were looking forward to seeing it again, this time riding upstream. It looked like that wasn't going to happen.

A message. We stopped for a coffee and I took a picture of the paper napkin.
Heart 0 Comment 0

What to do now? We considered various possibilities and came up with a new plan. We would continue on the bike path to the B&B in Remagen where we had booked a room for the night and stay there until we could get tickets to Munich. We were hoping that would be on Monday.

The bike path was full of people out for the day. It was a Saturday and the sun had come out. As a matter of fact, the weather forecast for all of next week was sunny. Rubbing salt in my wounds!

Today's ride: 53 km (33 miles)
Total: 965 km (599 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0