Introduction - A Flanders Fling - CycleBlaze

Introduction

I am re-posting my journal from our tour in Belgium May 2017, formerly on a different site, happily now here. A million thanks to Jeff and his helpers for making this possible!

March 2017 - My husband and I haven't been doing that much cycling lately. Everyday cycling around town, yes, but we haven't gone on any extended tours. Two years ago there was a short tour in the Czech Republic and last year another one north of Berlin, but neither of them was much more than a week. The passion was dormant, but it's still there and has now resurfaced.

We have decided on a tour in Belgium, or more precisely Flanders, home of my maternal grandparents who immigrated to the US when they were in their teens. My mother spoke Flemish - or Dutch, it's the same language - as a child and yes, I'd like to have a closer look at the country where my grandparents came from.

Another reason for touring in Flanders is that there is an extensive network of bike paths. Not to forget the many varieties of good beer, the pommes frites, waffles, Belgian chocolate ... oh, so many reasons to go to Belgium. And last but not least - it's flat! At least Flanders is, and that is where we are headed.

I think I have the logistics worked out. It should be simple. There is a direct train from Munich (where we live) to Düsseldorf which takes bicycles. From there it will be about 100 km to the Belgian border. The return trip is still open. I like to picture us cycling all the way back - but let's first see how we feel on a longer tour after so many years. We're both closer to 80 than 70 and I want to remain realistic.

A beer garden visit in early spring.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those wheels want to roll.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0