What's This? FIVE weeks out! - Touring buddy go for launch - CycleBlaze

April 10, 2021

What's This? FIVE weeks out!

Mostly I tour alone - I can accept that. People often act incredulous when they find out I'm doing hundreds of miles all by myself. But NOT this time. Kathy has agreed to join me on this next tour. You last saw her in 2016 on the GAP tour. This time, we're adding 60% to the days and mileage and even touring on some roads.

Was it my charm that led to accompanying me on a second tour? Was it the destination? NO - it was the purchase of an eBike which extends her range significantly. Christmas 2020 saw a Special Turbo Vado SL under the tree (well, actually, a 2.5 hour drive away in SC due to unavailability in the metro Atlanta area). So we strapped on the hitch-rack, drove to the bike shop, picked up the bike, and now she's riding along with me and looking forward to long weekend day rides. 

Here we are at the Silver Comet trailhead about to embark on a 37-mile ride (I thought it was going to be a 30-mile ride). Her new eBike is over her left shoulder
Heart 2 Comment 0

I call this bike the great equalizer. Actually, that's just what I thought of when I wrote the last sentence - in reality, it helps match our skills. I can get on the bike and bang out a metric century. Previously, Kath found it hard to keep up the speed and distance with her "old" bike. Now, with the eBike, Kath can ride alongside, we can chat, and she's not struggling after 8 miles or on hills. In fact, we hit a hill - I shift down and start spinning - her motor kicks in - and SHE'S GONE! I can't match the uphill speed. This eBike is potentially the best adventure purchase I ever made and it's not even for me - it allows her to experience all the adventure that make life worth living.

So what's the plan in 5 weeks? Well, we're driving to St Augustine in our car, picking up a rental, moving the bikes from our rack to the rental car, driving one-way to Tampa, dropping off the rental car, and then cycling back to our car in St Augustine. We chose Florida for this first tour because: (a) the temperature will be very pleasant, (b) it's Florida so the elevation gains won't be too bad for her. After all, we only climb about 2700' over the 274 mile length

Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerLooks like a great trip.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

So here's to much fun on the trip, and a sense of adventure and purpose.

Oh, yeah, and there's no camping on this trip which means even I'm traveling lighter :-)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauHi Paul, it's me again. Your tour looks like it'll be fun, fulfilling and flat. And the Kennedy Space Center looks like an interesting stop. But be careful on the highway leading to the space center. I seem to remember reading a journal a few years ago where the author got hit by a car on that road. Lots of traffic, no shoulder, that kind of stuff.

(P.S. As I was writing the above, I started thinking it might have been one of the Grampies who got hit. I just looked up their Florida journal here on Cycleblaze and confirmed that. Steve got hit by the truck and he was propelled forward into Dodie. Pretty nasty injuries to Steve. You might not want to mention this to your wife.)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul MulveyThanks for the update, Greg. I did think about cycling over to the space center and had concerns based on the access. I decided to hail an über - my wife LOVES the idea.

Cheers!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago