Hoi An to My Son and back - The first step ... South East Asia - CycleBlaze

May 11, 2016

Hoi An to My Son and back

Today was supposed to be a rest day.

We planned a gentle cycle to My Son to see the Champa temples from the 8th century expecting a flat easy ride. The route was as flat as a pancake but we added an extra 8 kms finding our way out of Hoi An (Open Street Maps is not quite up to date) and then battled a strong headwind and midday heat on the way home.

My Son is certainly worth it. The birding was also good. We basically gave up on briding in Laos (we think they have eaten them all) but now that we are in Vietnam our appetite for birding has returned. We picked up a number of lifers at My Son as well as on the road. Our only regret is that we didn't get to My Son an hour or two earlier.

Fold dancers at My Son
Heart 0 Comment 0
My Son
Heart 0 Comment 0
My Son
Heart 0 Comment 0
Birdwatching at My Son
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 2,619 km (1,626 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0