DAY THREE: Even MORE Northiness - An Unbelievable Tour Around An Imaginary World - CycleBlaze

March 3, 2023

DAY THREE: Even MORE Northiness

Yukon Territory to the Bering Strait

There is a method to my northward madness that may have escaped the casual reader of this blog.  To wit, I think it might be possible to ride my bike across the Bering Strait from Alaska to Russia--from North America to Asia--from freedom to oppression.  

It can only happen though, if the straight is completely frozen over.  I can't get any reliable information on that, but I'm prepared to take my chances.  At best, I'll make the first bicycle transit across the Pacific Ocean in the history of Cycleblaze.  At worst, I'll have to ride further north in order to get to Siberia via the Arctic Ocean.  Whatever.  Taking risks is what bike touring is all about, right?

************

So I took a crazy hike through the dense forest between the Yukon and Alaska in order to avoid the immigration officials at the border station.  It was a major success, except for the frostbite on my toes.

I rode on, past a few rustic towns, past the flanks of Denali, past herds of caribou, and past some Inuit villages where I was given a one-hour tutorial on the art of igloo building.  I was living the ultimate bike touring life.

I saw an Alaskan red fox.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I saw a Tolkien-like Ringwraith.
Heart 3 Comment 0

 

I saw an Alaskan moonrise.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I saw an Alaskan sunset.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I spent the night with my new Inuit friends.  They were even more cordial than the hobos I hung out with two nights ago.  We ate seal blubber together.  I learned how to carve a totem pole.  I learned arctic survival skills.  As I slept, I dreamed about The Feeshko back home.

She looks as cold as I was.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Scott AndersonPenelope! Will she be there when Odysseus returns?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0