What am I bringing?: An overview, plus my secret weapon - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

What am I bringing?: An overview, plus my secret weapon

I found all the gear for my first tour in a matter of days, on a tight budget, in a foreign country, and merged it with my existing luggage, which included full-on winter clothing. Then I acquired more stuff along the way. Given the way I threw my gear together, I shouldn't have been surprised, but when I finally had an opportunity to weigh everything three months later, it was like stepping on the scale only to find you're 30 pounds heavier than you ever thought possible.

No, it wasn't like that. It was exactly that.

After recovering from the shock and embarrassment, I developed a new respect for what I had accomplished. But you know what? That sort of self-respect is really, really heavy, and I have no desire to carry it around for another few thousand kilometres. So I'm super excited that I get to ride a slightly lighter bike with slightly lighter luggage.

My gear is still heavy, but I don't see a satisfactory way to cut down. For example, my shampoo/conditioner weighs almost a pound and I'll use the whole bottle during my trip. In order to carry less shampoo, I would need to 1) cut all my hair off, 2) stop washing my hair, or 3) buy expensive travel-size shampoo every few days. Option 1 would lead to regret, Option 2 is socially unacceptable, and Option 3 would be a poor use of money that would be better spent on food.

Perhaps the hills on my shakedown tour could've convinced me to shed some weight, but alas, the shakedown tour didn't actually happen. Here's what I'm working with:

Bike: Surprisingly heavy, but awesome nonetheless. And also the only bike I have. The big question mark here is the gearing, as it's similar to what I started with in Istanbul—and that wasn't quite low enough. I'm hoping that the lower gear weight means it'll be okay on this tour.

Clothing: I need enough to ensure I stay warm and dry while biking and camping in chilly fall rainstorms. It's prime hypothermia season. Or, should be. Right now, heat stroke is more likely.

Camping: -7 Celsius down sleeping bag and a solo tent. The sleeping bag weighs more than the tent but if it's chilly and damp, I'll be glad for the warmth.

Everything else: The usual, except that I'm substituting a small backpack for a handlebar bag. My theory is that it'll be more convenient off the bike and won't make a difference on the bike because I always stop riding when I want a photo or a snack anyway. Unfortunately, I didn't get around to devising a way to attach the backpack until 4 or 5 days before my tour, when I discovered that standard baskets refuse to fit my bike. I made a panicky online order for a shallow basket, to be shipped to my hosts' place in a race against the calendar. As soon as I saw the tracking information, I knew I had already lost. Plan B? Cable ties, and lots of them. If the basket falls off after a couple weeks, I can wear the backpack as far as the next bike shop. If it somehow lasts the entire tour, I can use it as a metaphor for me. Or something.

Secret weapon: A heart rate monitor to keep me from over-exerting myself. (Sorry it's not something more interesting.)

Inspired by the many photos I've seen of meticulously arranged gear and in lieu of an actual list, here's what I'm bringing, in convenient photographic form:

Don't worry, I'm pretty sure this is one of those fancy new self-assembling gear piles. (A photo of my loaded bike will follow as soon as it loads itself.)
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am beginning to suspect I'm not the planner I thought I was.

Post-Trip Update:

This was a tour with what I had, not what I wanted trip, but overall the gear worked out well for me. The heart rate monitor spent most of its time in the bottom of my pannier; so much for my secret weapon. The search continues...

Gloves were a problem again. Is there such a thing as a waterproof glove? All my gloves (biking-specific or not) have been waterproof from the inside, not the outside, and nothing is windproof, either. I do not enjoy riding with my fingers in puddles when it's 3 degrees out.

I'm not taking my current camera setup on tour again. This is the part where I admit to carrying a low end DSLR--with three prime lenses, one of which is garbage. I need something simpler, but a smartphone isn't enough.

After riding without panniers for three windy days, I'll be looking at ways to lower my wind resistance on future trips.

I had reluctantly brought cheap leggings to wear over my shorts instead of splurging on cycling tights, but it turned out to be a good decision because often when my bike fell over (or during the ensuing struggle to pick it up) the ends of my fender stays ripped holes in my leggings (and shins, sometimes).

And the basket? This was the big winner: it worked perfectly, and never needed adjustment even though it was held on with cable ties. I will swap it for a shallower one and I'll keep an eye out for a better daypack, but I am definitely sticking with baskets from now on.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0