What do I look like?: I know you're curious, so here are some photos of my recovery process - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

What do I look like?: I know you're curious, so here are some photos of my recovery process

My recovery was harder and longer than it should have been, probably due to being over-medicated. At first, even a 20 minute walk left me lightheaded and sore.

March: quite an improvement. I could only lie on my back at first.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually I started biking again, but hadn't made any progress after a few shaky bike rides and even had to turn around once when a lone hill decimated me only 4 or 5 km from home.

May: after my first attempt at a short but steep hill. That was the first and only time biking has made me nauseous.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I finally saw progress, it happened fast. In less than a month I went from "All hills and rides over 20 km are impossible" to "I made it to the top!".

June: Starting to conquer the hills. "What do you mean I have ten steep climbs on the way back down?"
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't see much, if any, improvement after that, but then there came a day when I started having disturbing (though fleeting) thoughts:

September: "Let's do that again!" Guess I'm just about ready to tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0