Apr 25, 2023: Heading to Timmins to catch a plane - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡Έ πŸ‡΅πŸ‡Ή - CycleBlaze

April 25, 2023

Apr 25, 2023: Heading to Timmins to catch a plane

A snowstorm today?!

I HAVE been keeping an eye on the weather on my destination to see a heat wave on its way which will drive temperatures up to the 30 C range. Meanwhile, back home (from where I must depart today) there is a weather advisory with a forecast of up to 10 to 15 cm of snow. "Leapin' langosta." Me being me, I'll have to grit my teeth for a few hours... many hours... a few days... until I finally get out of northern Ontario to where the weather is above the freezing point and planes can fly. Mind you, so far the flight for this afternoon is still showing 'On Time'. Fingers crossed.

And toes crossed.

Got to the Timmins airport with many hours to spare. Snow about the same. Planes on schedule in and out of Timmins. So I pulled up an uncomfy bench seat, pulled out my Jeffrey Archer novel and in no time at all they were calling passengers to security.

Once again, after my long line of 'what ifs' here I was, the plane left on time, arrived on time and I headed to the Air Canada lounge for dinner through what turned out to be a very busy Pearson Airport. The other item I noticed was as the plane was coming in to land. There were leaves on the trees and green grass everywhere. So... why the snowstorm at home?!

As with the airport, it is pretty busy in the lounge. Quite a contrast from last year as the world was slowly emerging from the pandemic and the airports were not so busy. Today, people everywhere.

Duck confit with mango and mint - a tasty appetizer at the Pearson Signature Lounge. -- Pearson Airport YYZ, Toronto, ON
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed in the direction of the international gates and of course to the lounges. I wasn't sure if my boarding pass would grant me access to the Signature Lounge but when I got in and they checked my pass - 'it sure does'. This would be a nice drawn-out evening since I had about five hours before my flight to Lisbon

The chef (I was told the chef is from Timmins) knocked this one out of the park. Beef, roasted potatoes and broccolli. The people at the two adjacent tables oohed and aahed, as well. An amazing send-off to this journey! -- Pearson Airport YYZ, Toronto, ON
Heart 0 Comment 0

I remembered the excellent server from last year and he suggested the beef - which was to-die-for melt-in-your-mouth delicious. And this from someone who rarely eats a lot of meat. Then to wile away some more time I lounged in the lounge watching some older South Park episodes - certainly rude, take-no-hostages hilarity.

Then it was down the stairs, around the corner, onto the plane and shortly thereafter away went the plane.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesGlad to see you are (almost) on your way. We are looking forward to our planned meet up in Porto, and will be following along your travels with eager anticipation.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brent IrvineThe minutes keep counting down. Soon. Very soon. I hope.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Shelley RummoSafe travels! Can’t wait to hear all the details! And see the APs :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago