Apr 18, 2023: Recovering with a Week to Go - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  šŸ‡ŖšŸ‡ø šŸ‡µšŸ‡¹ - CycleBlaze

April 18, 2023

Apr 18, 2023: Recovering with a Week to Go

SO AS the flight draws nearer, fortunately I feel better each day. But let me explain.

A few weeks ago as snow was melting and rooves still had loads of ice, I had the brilliant idea to solve that problem. With no accident being a 'smart' one and all of them being kind of foolish, my ladder tipped over and down I went crashing ever downward. My body felt 'white' with shock. And embarrassed because of my stupidity.

Summarizing the next little bit - if I broke any ribs, there is nothing to do but let them heal. My lungs were not punctured. Keep breathing deeply to avoid pneumonia. My arm bones are likely bruised but not broken. Take ibuprofen and rest. Though not great news, not terrible news. Moreover, Dodie Miller (another blogger on CycleBlaze) had a cycling fall in Portugal a few weeks ago, seemingly broke some ribs, yet is continuing on that tour even now - this gives me great hope.

To today. I am fine walking. I am fine on the bike trainer in the rec room. Deep breathing is fine. Ibuprofen quickly masks the rib pain.

Conclusion: I am leaving for Madrid in a week from today.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonOh, Iā€™m so sorry Brent. I swore years ago Iā€™d never get up on a ladder again. Heal quickly!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesDodie here-ribs are all just fine now. It took 2-3 weeks to feel somewhat back to normal, and another 2 weeks to not really notice discomfort, so there is hope for you. We are currently dawdling our way up through northcentral Portugal, waiting for a chance to have a meetup with you, somewhere.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brent IrvineTo Steve Miller/GrampiesI can't seem to find your email address. If you send it to me I will send my proposed daily sched in case it works to meet en route.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Brent IrvineYou can email us at shadybrook at shaw dot ca. We sure hope our paths end up crossing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago