Apr 26, 2023: Arriving to Madrid - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  ðŸ‡ªðŸ‡¸ 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2023

Apr 26, 2023: Arriving to Madrid

Staying steps away from Puerta del Sol

Heart 0 Comment 0

Hostal Santa Cruz, € 55 no breakfast

Today basically started with a meal on board the plane (at around 1202 am). There was a medical emergency with one of the passengers so we were slightly delayed for departure as they removed the unfortunate person's luggage.

I snacked a bit but soon settled in to the next episode of 'Unforgotten' only to wake up hours later not knowing what really happened in the story. It will definitely be a re-watch.

Trying to slip into Portuguese local time (and soon Spanish which is another hour) I was up at some crazy hour for a quick bowl of fruit then enjoyed the clear blue skies, the intense blue water and the slowly emerging landmass of Portugal. A 90 degree turn onto final and at 1125 am the plane was on the ground, only fifteen minutes late.

We were slightly delayed with another medical emergency while paramedics came to meet another ill passenger. This only took a minute or two and now was the walk to the passport control - where I stood for more than two hours last year filing in one of those amusement-park style mazes. This time there were electronic passport entry points and there was only one other person nearby to the ten or fifteen gates. In I went, right to the passport control for the stamp and I was in, through another security screening and to the lounge. WAY faster than last year. This is all going so darned well!

If you've read my last few blogs you have seen my first stop in Lisbon - at the lounge for a pasteis de nata and a cappuccino. This is only one step on my way, for I have to board a plane to Madrid in a few hours. -- Lisbon Airport LIS, Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 4 Comment 0
About to start the third flying leg of the trip, here I am at the gate for my plane from Lisbon to Madrid. Painted as a TAP plane it is actually an Air Bulgaria plane with Bulgarian staff. -- Lisbon Aiport, Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
About to start the third flying leg of the trip, here I am at the gate for my plane from Lisbon to Madrid. Painted as a TAP plane it is actually an Air Bulgaria plane with Bulgarian staff. -- Lisbon Aiport, Lisbon, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

Though the plane was almost full, it took no time at all to get everyone loaded on-board, get the door flipped and shut and pull back from the terminal building. Then up, up and away we went into the warm sunny afternoon as we soared over rolling hills, pastures then fairly rugged mountains.

In just under an hour the plane descended into Madrid from the north, and in mere moments I was off of the plane and awaiting my luggage with my breath held and fingers crossed. And then it emerged - right on the normal belt, and looking in fairly good condition after so much moving around. My bike box!

As I approached security they asked to see the luggage tag then asked what was in the box, if it was new or used, and if I was a professional cyclist. Maybe rude to a foreign customs agent but I actually laughed out loud a bit. I hardly look like a professional cyclist. Satisfied that my bike was used and that I was a feeble amateur cyclist, I was on my way with the box on a luggage trolley making my way to the Metro.

It took a while to make my way to the ticket area. It was pretty standard ticket booth stuff, and between having the wheels I mounted onto the bike box, escalators, and a few helpful Madrileños, I was down to the platform on Line 8 Aeropuerto. Since this was near the terminal end, there were few people on the train, but once I got to the end at Nuevo Ministerios it was pretty busy. I lugged and rolled my bike to Line 10 where there were more people on the train so I had to stand the bike on its side pointing upward. I took this train to Tribunal, which was much closer to central Madrid and the train was busy, the platforms were busy and all corridors were busy. Again, some fellow took an end of the box and helped me carry it up over and down to Line 1. When this train came it was packed and I mean PACKED. I had to let the first train go but for the next one I was right to the train when it arrived and slid my box through the door and was in a cramped car for the next two stops to Sol.

From the foyer's balcony of Hostal Santa Cruz. When Sister and I were here back in 2001 this square was under construction so there was hammering and banging from dawn til dusk. Now it is full of tourists enjoying the sights and their tapas. -- Plaza Santa Cruz, Madrid, Spain
Heart 3 Comment 0
The 'centre of the universe'. All points in Spain are measured from the Puerta del Sol in Madrid, which is this big now-pedestrianized square at the centre of the city. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 3 Comment 0
The 'centre of the universe'. All points in Spain are measured from the Puerta del Sol in Madrid, which is this big now-pedestrianized square at the centre of the city. I even see a view of my future here -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 1 Comment 0
The 'centre of the universe'. All points in Spain are measured from the Puerta del Sol in Madrid (from this very point) which is this big now-pedestrianized square at the centre of the city. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 2 Comment 0
I always stop when paving stones are being set in Europe. There, it is an art form, and made using actual granite pavers. I'd love to have a driveway with them. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 1 Comment 0
The female bear symbolizes the fertile soil of Madrid and the tree symbolizes the aristocracy. -- Puerta del Sol, Madrid, Spain
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonLooks like folks must rub his foot and tail for luck.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Brent IrvineTo Scott AndersonIndeed! People were doing exactly that just before I captured this photo.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Everywhere in Spain you can find jamón, or cured ham. It may be shaved thinly and on your plate, or it might be the cured leg sitting or hanging in a store, restaurant or bar. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 2 Comment 0
The streets of Madrid have glorious old stone buildings. This one has always captured my attention. And now that the streets from Sol are car-free there are more vantage points from which to study the building's beauty. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 2 Comment 0
The narrow side streets in the centre of Madrid come alive in the evening as people gather to talk, eat and enjoy a glass of wine or beer. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 2 Comment 0
The narrow side streets in the centre of Madrid come alive in the evening as people gather to talk, eat and enjoy a glass of wine or beer. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 2 Comment 0
The narrow side streets in the centre of Madrid come alive in the evening as people gather to talk, eat and enjoy a glass of wine or beer. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another beautiful building, this one along Calle Atocha. Walking to the left brings you to the Atocha train station, while going right will get you to the Plaza Mayor. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 1 Comment 0

When I emerged into the hot sunny evening in Puerta del Sol I was surprised but pleased to see that the square was now car-free so I'd have no problem getting 'across the street' with my huge box. Using my GPS I made my way to my hostal within ten to fifteen minutes, then up the elevator to my hostal and in to the lobby of the hostal where Sister and I had first come in 2001!

The pleasant woman checked me in then I found out that she and her husband are both from Cienfuegos, Cuba. Two more to leave due to the hardships back home. Her husband is a road cyclist.

Though I was exhausted I headed out to wander a bit on such a beautiful evening, got a few evening APs (artsy photos) but had to get back so I could crash.

Except... it was bugging me that the bike was still in the box and not assembled. I just had to do it. I pulled my things out of the box, put the bike back together, then chopped the box into manageable pieces so the staff could more easily dispose of it.

Satisfied with my work I decided to re-watch my 'Unforgotten' episode only to immediately fall asleep, dreaming of vehicles stuck in snow, of all things!

Looking pretty much the same, that building at centre houses Hostal Santa Cruz, where I am staying for the next two nights while I explore Madrid. -- Madrid, Spain
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0