Women, can they ever make up their minds?: Or perhaps it's just me. - Exploring northwest and central Colorado with a bit of Wyoming thrown in - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2018

Women, can they ever make up their minds?: Or perhaps it's just me.

I was so happy to go home. But once I got there I wanted to be back on the road. What's with me?

Jacinto was bored to tears having a rainy rest day in little Hot Sulphur Springs. I was home doing laundry and going to the grocery store. I rode my favorite local ride up Rifle Gap. It was lovely, but oh too familiar. I wanted to be back with the guys seeing new roads.

What the hell. I asked my daughter if she could take me back. Yes, she could.

I did not trade bicycles. As much as I don't quite trust the ROX, I sure do like riding it. I traded the Arkel dry lite panniers for Jandd Saddlebag panniers. The thought being that possibly the flexible Arkel bags could sway back and forth on the fast downhills. The Jandd bags have an aluminum frame to give the bags shape. It seems like a long shot, but I switched the bags out. I also left my computer home, so I did not do daily updates on the last days of this tour. Leaving the computer home, I reduced my gear weight to less than eight pounds, not counting food or water. I can't par my gear down any more. That is the bare minimum.

Marcela gave me a ride to Dillon. It took us forever to get through the construction on the interstate. We are at a nice Best Western right on the reservoir. It is not convenient to restaurants. I debated asking Marcela to hang around and give us a ride to dinner, but decided I shouldn't be so lazy. Off she drove. She was no more than gone and we were ready to walk to dinner, then it started pouring rain!

We delayed our departure until the rain stopped, but took jackets just in case. Jacinto wanted to eat at Ruby Tuesday. He knew they had a nice salad bar and we had been light on vegetables this trip. After that Jacinto and I went to see a movie next door. Wayne went to the grocery in the same complex and back to the room.

Tomorrow was an easy day with a ride around the lake on the bike path. We agreed to meet for a leisurely breakfast. Wayne agreed I could ride with him. I was a little concerned about getting lost. Bike paths in general are quite confusing. They are never well marked. Jacinto's plan was to ride to the top of Hoosier Pass and down to Frisco.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0