Riverside, WY - Walden, CO - Exploring northwest and central Colorado with a bit of Wyoming thrown in - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2018

Riverside, WY - Walden, CO

We negotiated a 7 AM breakfast with Lynn. She took sympathy on us so we could get on the road and avoid some of the heat. The high for day was supposed to be 77, that sounded pretty good to me. I was more worried about the wind. The forecast said wind from the north, but it definitely felt like a light headwind to me.

The four early breakfast eaters left at the same time. I had a horrible, horrible squeak somewhere in the rear. I did clean and lube the chain yesterday. I think some water or grit got in somewhere it shouldn't have from the big rainstorm. The fender wasn't rubbing. The brakes weren't rubbing. The drive train is clean. What could it be? Wayne stopped with me to try and figure things out. Nothing jumped out at us. The best I could do is hope the squeak would become a loud background noise.

Or day today started out with ascending rollers. The largest topped out at mile 12. The overall day was climbing. We finished ~1,000 feet higher than we started. Our low temperature tonight is 42 degrees. That's quite a change from the low of 72 in Dinosaur a few days ago.

I eventually caught up with Ken and Tom when they took a rest break. We stayed roughly together all day. I had a good day. The bike was good, I felt rested after our day off. The temps didn't get too hot. The wind was never terrible.

Jacinto and I had ridden this road back in 2004 and barely crawled into town. We had plenty of climbing, but it wasn't overwhelming. I'm feeling much happier today. There's nothing better than perfect riding conditions to put a smile on your face!

We saw a fully loaded rider heading west earlier in the day. Ken spoke with him, a fellow from Brooklyn. An eastbound rider caught up with us at a rest break, Jeffrey. He was also staying in Walden. It seems I hardly ever tour areas that are popular with bicycle tourists. It's strange to see so many riders on the same roads I'm riding.

Ken's son used to live in this area. Ken knew that the grocery story was at the top of the hill a couple of miles out of town. They had a full fresh fruit/veggie section. I bought cherries, tomatoes, a red pepper, and a banana. I really wanted an avocado, but they were rock hard. I bought a six pack of beer to share because it's almost Tom's birthday. It wasn't until we were approaching town that I remembered grocery store beer is only 3.2. Darn. I thought I was buying a nice treat.

While we were in the store, Jacinto passed us and beat me to the motel. We were in 101, but that was at the far end of the building instead of next to the office. Strange. Our room is large with plenty of room for the bikes. Wi-fi is good, even at this end of the building. The bathroom is old style turquoise, but it's very well cared for.

Ken's family is coming to meet him for dinner. We are all going to the Antler's for dinner. Jacinto and I ate there on that long ago trip and I still remember exactly what I ate. The food was delicious. I hope it still is.

Wayne to the left, Ken to the right. Jacinto in the center.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto left two hours after us and still beat me to town. He is a slow coffee drinker in the morning. BTW, he did buy an aero press coffee maker for travel. It's not the same as the percolator - it made the trip again. There's nothing more important than the right cup of joe in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wayne rode over this cattle guard. I think he’s living dangerously.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are still in cattle country.
Heart 0 Comment 0
2017 Lightning P-38 ROX.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
None of the guys saw these little cabins out in the middle of nowhere. I imagine them to be a hunting camp.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ken and Tom at a rest break. Tom is turning 81 in a couple of days. I only catch him when he stops for a break. His bike has a double, mine has a triple. Tom takes more breaks on the climbs than I do, that's when I catch him.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This sign made me think of Kevin OLeary. He lives in Laramie. I looked down the road to see if he happened to be riding my way. Nope.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On that long ago trip I was exhausted when we reached Cowdry and tried to talk Jacinto into staying here. I was surprised that the cabins were still standing and still said vacancy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jeffrey is from Seattle. He's riding the Transam with his wife as a SAG driver. I did like his nice Rodriquez Bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's contribution today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ken saved the day when he figured out to pull out this broken plastic piece and try inserting the broken end. Now Jacinto has a top strap for his shoe again. He rode the entire day with his toes mushed in the bottom of his shoe.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 351 miles (565 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0