Stuttgart and Lyon - Europe 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 11, 2022

Stuttgart and Lyon

People at the Confluence

Heart 0 Comment 0

black headed gull

Heart 0 Comment 0

mallards and Gadwalls

Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided to try the train on Saturday. The Itinerary I had started at 5:38 am. The trip to the station took less than 1/2 an hour the day before, but I wasn’t sure how long it would take at such an early hour. If any train was late, the whole thing fell apart. Of course, the Czech train was delayed more than once. Eventually, they put us on German trains which cost more time. This trip would possibly take 14 hours if it worked

Taking the bus, would mean 24 hours, but would be a sure thing with one transfer. So I ended up in Munich/ Munchen where they told me it was impossible to get to Lyon on Saturday. I just wanted out of there and took a train to Stuttgart. There was on overnight bus that was leaving in 8 hours. I planned to see Stuttgart a little, but it started to rain. Apparently I went back to the station just as the rain ended, because by the time the train left it was not raining. The bus is projected to come a small bus station further out at 11 PM. The taxi driver knew some buses from this company came to the station. And Yet…

   The bit of Stuttgart I saw was near the station and a shopping and dining district. There were many people and most trying to stay dry. It was full of garbage which supported many pigeons and sparrows. The station was very busy with long distance and local trains and the metro underground.

Anyway, 11 PM comes and no bus. I check my email receipt and I have the right time and day and there can only be one bus terminal on that street in Leonberg. I would end up in a hotel and try to make the trip on Sunday. Hurray!! at 11:07 there it was. It was far from full so I had the two seats to try to sleep. I was a little tired today but some of that was from getting up early and not sleeping well Friday night.

There was a transfer to another bus on my ticket to Lyon airport. I would have to get to the city from there. I could not remember where the transfer point would be. Much to my surprise, I was in the city. I was disoriented trying to exit the station. I went off in a random direction. Hurray!! there’s the hotel 1 block away. I was there early enough that they offered me breakfast.

I wandered around Lyon for several hours as the room would not be ready until afternoon. This part of the city is between the Rhône and Saône rivers and the confluence is nearby. It’s a nice looking city, with a mix of old and new. I checked in, took a nap and went looking for the confluence. It was a pretty good walk. There seem to be boats permanently moored on the river. Do people live in them sometimes?

 

Coming back from the confluence was an eco-garden which had several Eurasian Moorhens and Gadwalls(?). 

buildings in Lyon and no surprise the lion is their symbol

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0