Sept 2 and 3 - Europe 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2022

Sept 2 and 3

 

I arrived in Prague, Czech Republic yesterday. September 2.

Overview- I start the 4th on a weeklong bicycle trip which ends back in Prague. I will travel to Seville, Spain and have three days of birdwatching  and then a week long bicycle trip to Porto, Portugal and then home.

 

A person I know was driving to O’hare airport and was able to drop me off there. It was quite a bit earlier than I needed to be there, but it was quick and easy. The lady at the check-in strongly suggested that I check the bag I was not going to check. Fortunately, it arrived when I did.

 

The person at information told me how to take the bus and metro to the stop near the hotel. There was no rush to get there as I was sure I would not be able to check in and I was very jet lagged. I dropped off my bags and got some food. Took the metro to the old square which was pretty  busy. There were a lot of people.

 

I had trouble with both electricity adapters I brought. One didn’t work at all and the other would not maintain 110v and got very hot on 220v. The adapter for the laptop works on either fortunately.

 

I went to sleep early.

 

Saturday, September 3, 2022

The hotel had  a really great breakfast. There is a restaurant and they had real food.  There was a store selling lighting and other electrical stuff nearby and he put a new fuse in the adapter that didn’t work. I took the tram or street car to the area near the old Prague Castle and a pedestrian bridge. This area was packed with tourists. There were so many big groups on walking tours.  

I did not expect to see a huge long line of Harley-Davidson motorcycles go by. It was said to be the 10th anniversary of Prague Harley Days. If someone said there were 300 bikes, I would believe that. They are, of course, noisy and smelly.

 I did go up to the castle which was scenic, way up the mountain. More people on walking tours there.

I had a chance to see some common city birds including the Great Tit.

The broken adapter for electric works now. I was hugely surprised to not see any phone stores, as I wanted to buy a SIM card.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0