barcelona - Europe 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2022

barcelona

I had no real plans for anything to see in Barcelona. It has long been an important city and has old churches to prove it.

a fanciful building
Heart 0 Comment 0
the old cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0

It is also famous for its relatively recent structures designed by Antoni Gaudi. I went by La Sagrada Familia, his famous church and the old cathedral. Both were under repair and covered up or removed.

La Sagrdad Familia. there are bananas and grapes up high and other flourishes. Huge number of people there
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Gaudi also designed some other stuff I was not really trying to find but stumbled upon. Anyway, it looks like a fun place. It is bigger than the type of city I prefer. There are museums and fancy restaurants and stuff that I have little interest in, but I am in the minority. There were some walking tours, but not like in Prague. It is big enough that there are tourist buses since most people don't want to walk so far.  

check out the tops
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another by Gaudi. La Pedrera
Heart 1 Comment 0
The monk parakeets
Heart 1 Comment 0

No matter where I went, it was full of people. Miles and blocks of apartment buildings. Many of them quite fanciful compared to most cities. Did Gaudi inspire them or the other way around?

the weather is very warm. Although I have a small room at a hostel with the bathroom across the hall, it has AC. I fly to Seville tomorrow. Yes- I was too ambitious with trains and buses. The distances are greater than I pictured. There will be five nights in and around Seville.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0