In Amiens: the village snapshot challenge - Three Seasons Around France: Spring - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2022

In Amiens: the village snapshot challenge

I went for a bike ride on my own today while Rachael took a short walk (short by her standards, anyway) and an afternoon nap.  I’ll post that ride separately but this it a split from it.  Partway through the ride I realized that if I stopped for everything interesting I’d never make it back in time for a social commitment on this afternoon’s agenda.  So I made a challenge to myself, to pick only a single subject in every village I passed through.  I thought it would save a substantial amount of time (which it did), and I’d just include them at the end of the rest of the day’s post.

It didn’t quite turn out as planned though, because even at this I ended up with too much material for a single post.  I was surprised to see that I passed through nearly twenty villages, an average of one every mile or two through the heart of the ride.  So here they are as a set - an image from 16 villages, in order of occurrence along the route.  Note that there are two or three shots from the first few villages because the idea of limiting it to one per village hadn’t occurred to me yet.

Chateau, Boves.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Street scene, Boves.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wall and signposts, Cottenchy.
Heart 2 Comment 0
House at the junction, Cottenchy.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Roses on the Grand Rue, Remiencourt.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Distressed wall, Remiencourt.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Bruce LellmanLooks like clay with some sort of plaster/stucco material over it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanRight. There’s a lot of information exposed here, alright. Like a cadaver in anatomy class.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanI’ve found it, on a reference on varieties of traditional French architecture. It’s cob (mixed straw, clay, animal manure, sand, and lime ). Half-timbered houses filled with cob were common in northern France and Britain, so I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of these.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Old mill on the Noye, Remiencourt.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Insect hotel and church, Rouvrel.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Church, Melville au Bois.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Roadside shrine. This one’s a fudge, because it’s between villages.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Roses, Louvrechy.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Roadside memorial, Soudon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
 
Grain tower, La Faloise.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Schoolhouse/library, Epagny.
Heart 2 Comment 0
War memorial and lavender, Chaussoy.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Schoolhouse/Marie, Berny Sur Noye.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Grain towers, Ailly Sur Noye.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Church, Jumel.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Doorbell, Estree sur Noye.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Chateau, Sains en Aminoise.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Birdhouses and gas powered bicycle, Saint Fuscien.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0