Into the Electric Mountain - Recharging at the Electric Mountain - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2011

Into the Electric Mountain

Height climbed 638 metres

After a very solid nights sleep, not suprisingly, a lazy get up and coffee at Pete's Eats I was waiting for the visitor centre to open at the Electric Mountain at just before 10. I booked on the first tour, at 11, browsed the exhibition, and had tea and cake.

The tour went through the development of the power station from an idea to production. Basically, water flows from a lake high up to another one much lower through turbines to generate electricity at times of high demand, then is pumped back up during the night when there is a surplus of electricity being produced due to low demand. Being an electrician (of sorts) this sort of thing flicks my switch.

The power station is totally within this mountain. Except for the lakes, of course...
Heart 4 Comment 0

After another cup of tea, this time at the railway terminus for the Snowdon mountain railway, I set off back over the Pass of Llanberis to Betws-y-coed for some lunch. This time I stopped further up the hill in the woods (too far for the fat coach tourists to venture).

More fantastic scenery and cycling, courtesy of the Snowdonia National Park.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonReally great photo!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
The Pass of Llanberis.
Heart 2 Comment 0
At last i've seen one.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After another cup of tea (do you see a pattern forming here) I headed back to Llangollen to the same campsite I had stayed at on Monday evening. Unfortuntely (?) the reception was closed when I arrived, so i'll have to see them in the morning, if they are open when I leave...

Although tired from yesterdays slog, I felt strong on the hills today. I have a long day planned for tomorrow, so hope to get a good rest tonight.

Hollywood eat your heart out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There's a bit of a railway bridge/road bridge/river tangle going on here.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 289 miles (465 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0