Day 7 - ending at Chillicothe, MO - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2017

Day 7 - ending at Chillicothe, MO

Posted via email Sun Aug 13 16:45:02 2017 PDT

This day's report starts out after-dark the evening before, since it was a determining factor for the whole day to come.

After successfully roasting and eating four hot dogs and enjoying the Pepsi, I sat down on the church step with my back against the doors. The stars provided an incredible view. I don't know the night sky very well, but I think I was seeing the Milky Way. I'm glad Kevin and his wife talked me into enjoying this beautiful evening, and am thankful to them for providing so much to make it so.

The hot dogs had fueled me up, and I was ready to write the report. I grabbed my maps, notes, and headlamp, and returned to the porch. Later I noticed the sky was not as awesome, and realized the moon was coming up behind the trees to the east.

As usual, I had too many details in my report, but I was just about done. I faithfully 'Save draft' as I type, and sometimes I still lose part of my typing. At 2:00am, I did a 'Save draft' that didn't save, for I'd actually tapped the 'Discard' button just below 'Save draft', and . . . that was that. Googling the situation, I read this is a hazard with the Gmail app, and that I'd lost my chance for recovery. The only draft now was in my head. I wanted it typed down before it faded, so got back at it. I was more or less done by 5:00am, but by then I didn't trust that it was intelligible. Can't fix it in my present state, so I went inside the tent to sleep.

At 6:30am there was enough morning light to get started on my rear flat. As I was removing the wheel, I noticed two broken spokes. I have some spares with me - from the bike I bought in Arkansas City during my 2013 trip. First, the tire. Was it a truck tire wire or a rock? It was a wire, easy to find from inside the tire. No trace of it on the outside, even after knowing where it was. I used the bucket of water intended for putting out the fire to locate the hole in the tube, and patched that.

Spoke replacement went OK, though I spent too much time truing the wheel. Kevin stopped by on his way to work to wish me well. What kind folks I've run into this trip!

I browsed through the cemetery for a break from packing. One marker has the usual information, then below the words, "Senior Discount Please"!

Started out at 10:45am. A lot of noise was coming from the rear wheel. Stopped and figured out it was just the adjusted spokes settling in. I wasn't looking forward to the two-plus miles walk back north to US-36 - and it was mostly a walk, due to unrideable gravel.

Almost to the highway at 11:45am. Stopped in the last available shade on Abbey Avenue to phone my wife. She kept me on the line until noon. Mileage report for the morning: 2.4.

My destination was Chillicothe, and I had a good east wind pushing me along. But I wasn't in good shape - hungry and tired. Fortunately, when I'd start to fall asleep, I usually veered right into the weeds. When I crossed into Linn County, the shoulder went to crumbled blacktop and the debris blacktop deteriorates into. This was worse than a rideable gravel road. I won't make it to Chillicothe on this. Not in my condition. Anyway, I had to get some food. Brookfield was ahead, and I took its Business US-36 exit at 2:12pm. Passed several fine places to eat, but I was looking for the family restaurant advertised back on highway. I somehow missed that place, but Google Maps indicated a place ahead. That was good, because I was almost out of town on this through-town diversion.

Arrived at 'Simply Country' at 2:29pm. They were closed. I sat down on their bench outside, and tried to think. Just keep going? Get a motel room or camp in the city park? Back track to a place to eat, then go on? I couldn't even make simple decisions! I did realize, at least, without food I couldn't go on. So, I back-tracked to the last gas station I'd passed (Sinclair), and ate lunch there. That helped some, and I decided at 3:08pm to see how far I could get heading on west.

The shoulder of US-36 slowly improved, and was good again when I reached Livingston County - at 5:31pm. I divided the miles I had to go into segments, stopping every three to get off the bike and drink some water.

The wind was still helping me. There was some hope now that I would make it. And I did, arriving at Chillicothe's city limits at 7:01pm. Rolled up to the Starlite Motel at 7:12pm, and booked room 12 for two nights. Room 12 is two rooms (beds) plus bathroom, but the check-in clerk figured it would work best for getting my bike inside, since a resident nearby has a ramp there for his dog to use. I wasn't sure the ramp was sturdy enough for my loaded bike, but the resident happened to show up with his dog, and said go for it. It worked very well for both me and the dog (one at a time).

With the still-loaded bike in the room, I walked over to McDonald's for supper, arriving at 8:25pm. I ordered a Big Mac, and the cashier asked if I wanted two for the cost of one. Apparently, some ball team in Kansas City did well the night before, and this had something to do with the deal. "Sure, make it two." I told her. This was the meal I should have had back in Brookfield! And I could have. Lack of sleep and food affects my judgement, as well as my energy level, I found out today. Thank goodness prayers are being said for me.

Back at my room I took a shower, and finally decided which bed I wanted to use (I couldn't even make that decision!). Only sleep is going to fix me, and I got at that at 10:30pm.

Jeff

Spent: $4.10 (lunch) + $45.32 plus $5 (motel) + $9.40 (supper) = $63.82.

Day 7 - Marceline, MO to Chillicothe, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 317 miles (510 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0