Day 6 - ending near Marceline, MO - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2017

Day 6 - ending near Marceline, MO

Posted via email Sun Aug 13 09:08:02 2017 PDT

Up with the alarm at 6:30am. Brought back coffee and snacks from the lobby to get me started. Sent report in and packed. Then I covered two ventilation holes on my helmet with Kapton tape. I'd noticed that certain areas of my head were getting sunburned. That didn't used to happen!

The motel has a notebook in this room which includes a menu from every place in town to eat. I got a recommendation on a good place for breakfast as I checked out at 9:35am.

A short time later I was at Martha's Family Restaurant in downtown Shelbina. Ordered my usual breakfast. As I was waiting, I was surprised to hear the click of a Zippo lighter. Apparently the area at the front of the restaurant (which I was close to) is a smoking area. Then I noticed that the poster-pictures on the walls had clear plastic covers over them, but only those at the front!

At 10:45am, I was ready to leave. Since I wasn't where I was supposed to be last night, I'll get back on US-36 going west, and eventually be back on my at-home-planned route. Easy riding on a wide shoulder. I passed by Lentner at 11:42am, and stopped at CR-321 to record the noon mileage: 9.3 miles. I turned on my radio here, and received station KRES (104.7 MHz) out of Moberly. Their noon report included news on the Missouri State Fair. I also got to hear that ad, "Beef. It's what's for dinner."

At 12:50pm, following my waypoints, I took the exit to Clarence, heading to the park downtown. As I parked the bike, an eighty-one year old gentleman pulled up in a pickup and said, "They're tearing down my town." pointing to workers at the block of buildings on the north side of the railroad tracks. He said the buildings on this side will be next. There were caution signs on some of the buildings about falling bricks. He then asked about my route, and I said I planned to take backroads to Macon. He said, "You're going to see a lot of rocks!" (meaning gravel). That would be OK with me if it was rideable. He gave me directions to get to Vine Street (the backroad to Macon), wished me well, and let me get to my break.

At 1:27pm, I made the turn onto Vine Street. It was rideable for the most part, but it sure was slow-going. When I got to paved Road V, I decided to ditch my back-road plan and get back on US-36. I was twenty-six straight-line miles from my destination (Mussel Fork Conservation Area) and needed to keep moving.

I arrived at US-36 at Anabel at 2:27pm, and was at Macon's city limit at 3:24pm. Continuing on west toward Bevier, I saw a sign for a Love's-Subway, and was there for supper at 4:18pm. Back to riding at 5:01pm. Passed Callao at 5:27pm, and New Cambria at 6:36pm.

At 7:11pm I was at Abbey Avenue, the road south that would take me to the conservation area. About 2.5 miles to go on this almost unrideable gravel. At least it was level. Then, with 1.5 miles to go, I noticed the rear tire was soft. Well, I can walk this. Then it started to get hilly. With 0.3 miles to go, an ATV pulled up. The couple inside wanted to know if I needed help. I told them my destination and camping plans. They said it would be better to set up my tent on the mowed lawn of the church. I said I would have to get permission to do that, and the fellow said, "I'm giving you permission." Then I asked where the church was. "At the top of this hill you're climbing." I accepted their offer, and walked up to High Hill Church. This place is beautiful! There's a cemetery to the west of the church building, and a pasture to the south. And plenty of flat mowed area beyond the parking lot for my tent. I got busy setting up in the last of the light.

The couple stopped by to see how I was getting along. They are Kevin and his wife. I accepted their beer offer, and pulled a cold one out of the cooler on the back of the ATV. This is my first beer in over a year, due to restrictions of prescription medication I'm on. (I recently received approval for one now and then.) Kevin thought I should have a campfire. I was thinking I wouldn't have time for one, but Kevin talked me into it. They went off to get kindling, and returned with that, plus wood and fire starter (diesel fuel). Kevin's wife had hot dogs, a roasting stick, and a Pepsi for me! Kevin made quick work on getting the fire started, and his wife went off to fill my water jug for me and get a bucket-full of water for putting out the fire. When she returned, we discussed my planned route for tomorrow. They now have me convinced to back-track to US-36, and head to Chillicothe.

After wishes for a good night, they left. What a blessing to be here! I'd be calling my friend Jim this evening, who always said I should be having more campfires. However, he passed away last March. I miss him.

Well, time to see if I can eat four hot dogs!

Jeff

Spent: $9.22 plus $2 (breakfast) + $7.77 (supper) = $18.99.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 6 - Shelbina, MO to Marceline, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Abbey Avenue is a bumpy road - Macon County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ an audience as I walk past +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a scenic walk, anyway +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ "A day always ends better with a campfire." - remembering what my friend Jim said back in 2010 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 275 miles (443 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0