Day 8 - still at Chillicothe, MO - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2017

Day 8 - still at Chillicothe, MO

Posted via email Sun Aug 13 20:39:02 2017 PDT

A good night's sleep did me a world of good. Finally out of bed at 9:00am. Fixed Day 6 report to be understandable and sent it in.

At noon the housekeeper knocked on my door, asking of I needed anything. I asked about laundry machines, and he told me where the laundromat is in town, since there are no machines here at the motel. I talked about walking there, but he said it was too far to walk. Very helpful information that Google Maps hadn't provided me.

I unloaded the bike, then reloaded with dirty laundry. Left at 12:37pm, and arrived at EZ DO at 12:58pm. While there I worked on Day 7 report, drank a Dr Pepper, and had interesting conversations with two fellows. Done at 2:27pm, and on my way to a mural I'd noticed a few blocks away uptown.

Chillicothe is where sliced bread was first sold. The mural I saw honors that. Then I saw another mural across the street. Then I came across another! Seemed like they were everywhere - even in an alley I rode down! Well, I have enough pictures for today's report, no more. As soon as I'd decided that, I came across one by the library that I thought was really unique. It was interesting to see what titles/authors they chose. Didn't see Jane Austen on my quick browse through, though I did find Ben Hur, the book I'm currently re-reading (at home).

Finally, I headed for Walmart. I needed to get some prescriptions filled. I was told at my hometown store that this on-the-road pick-up would work. And it did, no problem. Good to have that done.

Back at the motel at 3:58pm. Finished Day 7 report. Now, to eat. Golden Corral was my choice, and I arrived there by bike at 6:55pm.

My waitress said, "There you are!" when I was back at my table after filling a couple of plates at the buffet. She wanted to know if I wanted regular or decaf. Then, just before leaving, she fixed me up with a to-go coffee, using an improvised insulated cup (several kid's cups stacked together).

Arrived back at the motel at 8:05pm. I rode 6.5 miles today, but on the empty bike, they don't count.

I'm finished now with this report, and my coffee. Figuring nothing else report-worthy will happen this evening, I'm sending it in.

Good night.

Jeff

Spent: $45.32 plus $5 (motel) + $2.25 (laundry machines) + $0.75 (Dr Pepper) + $14.57 plus $3 (supper) = $70.89.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ next door neighbors to the Starlite Motel - Chillicothe, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0