Day 14 - ending near Rockford, NE - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2017

Day 14 - ending near Rockford, NE

rode on Blue River Rail Trail, Chief Standing Bear Trail

Posted via email Sun Aug 20 19:31:03 2017 PDT

Had the alarm set for 6:20am, but was up by 5:20am. At 6:15am, I went to the lobby for coffee, and picked up my clean laundry. A posted note said laundry service is $1.50 per pound, but the new owner here said just to pay what I wanted to. Their laundry proceeds will be donated to charities. Later, the owner gave me his card, saying to call him if I get in a bind the next day or two!

I saw a familiar face at the motel this morning. It was the clerk that was working at the Home City Sinclair last evening, and helped me secure my room. She also works as a housekeeper here. I couldn't have run into kinder people!

I was ready to leave at 9:06am, except my MAP330 GPS wouldn't boot-up. Exchanged it with the packed-away spare, and headed away at 9:25am.

Downtown for breakfast was the first destination, and I arrived at the Wagon Wheel at 9:40am, after some sightseeing. Done eating at 10:30am, then more sightseeing south toward the city park. I was trying to get more pictures of black squirrel statues for my sister-in-law (I heard there are over twenty in this town). Apparently, there was some sort of search challenge going on this morning, because I was being chased by vans full of kids getting their picture taken next to one squirrel, then another.

I finally saw a real black squirrel (being chased by a brown squirrel) on my way to the trailhead for the Blue River Rail Trail. Today's plan was to get to Nebraska on this trail, then ride part of the Chief Standing Bear Trail. The final part of the day would be on country roads to Rockford Lake State Recreation Area. This diversion was an at-home last minute change. Beatrice was sounding too crowded for me.

I was sweating when I arrived at the trailhead for the Blue River Rail Trail (at 11:16am). Took a break, then started riding at 11:28am. I met a gentleman a mile along. He was walking back to the parking lot. He said he's never been to the end of the trail - except years ago when the tracks were still here, and he worked for the railroad. Officially this was the 'Beatrice Branch', but the railroad workers called it the 'North Turn'.

Noon mileage was 5.2 miles. The wind was from the southeast, so I should be making good time. At 12:40pm, I arrived where Hull, Kansas, used to be. Moving along - 1:05pm: Marietta, 1:20pm: Oketo, and 1:48pm: the state of Nebraska!

I was on the Chief Standing Bear Trail now. At Barneston (2:40pm), I stopped to make a trail permit donation. Camping is allowed here, and there is electricity. I stayed here a while, getting a smartphone charge boost.

Moved on at 3:13pm, passing by S 94th Road at 3:46pm, Plum Road at 4:17pm, and arrived at Blue Springs Trailhead at 4:46pm. Nice and new, with a cold water spigot! Left at 4:59pm.

I don't know if it was the temperature, no oncoming breeze, or no lunch, but I was finding this work. Stopped to eat a bag of peanuts, then left the trail near Holmesville at 6:10pm. Finally made it on mostly gravel/sand roads to the east camping area of Rockford Lake (at 7:33pm). There were no more 'cheap' sites available, so I ended up with 50-amp service (at site #4).

Just enough daylight left to get the tent up, and put Kapton tape on my new 'Royalgel'-filled saddle, which now has a tear and is leaking gel.

I ate four cookies from my lunchbox as I watched the weather in the northwest. Might have rain tonight.

Too tired for report writing. To bed at 10:35pm. Good night.

Jeff

Spent: $25 (laundry donation) + $13.78 plus $3 (breakfast) + $10 (trail donation) + $8 (entrance fee) + $17 (campsite) = $76.78.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 14 - Marysville, KS to Rockford, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ back downtown after my short ride through City Park - Marysville, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ this squirrel named "Choo-Choo" stands near the Union Pacific Railroad Depot - Marysville, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ restoration progress at the Union Pacific Railroad Depot - Marysville, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Big Blue River near Oketo, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ heading toward some shade - Blue River Rail Trail, Marshall County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ crossing Plum Creek - Chief Standing Bear Trail, Gage County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ crossing Mud Creek on East Linden Road - Gage County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ view looking back west from a high point along East Linden Road - Gage County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking northwest toward the sunset and the approaching overnight storm - Rockford State Recreation Area, Gage County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 554 miles (892 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0