Day 15 - ending at Filley, NE - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2017

Day 15 - ending at Filley, NE

Posted via email Mon Aug 21 12:20:03 2017 PDT

There were storms here this morning - from about 1:40am to 3:30am. Wind, heavy rain, lighting. I helped the tent stay up from time to time, and got through it OK. Apparently better than others, I found out later in the morning.

I was up at 6:05am, and immediately started packing up. One fellow stopped by and said, "You're not staying here for the eclipse?" I told him my plans. Just before I'd left home, I'd found information on a community church service at a historic barn south of Filley, followed by a luncheon at a church in Filley. Both these events appealed to me. Filley also has a place to eat, so if I could set my tent up in town, I'd be all set for eclipse viewing the next day.

Ready to leave at 8:23am. About three miles to the barn, with the church service starting at 10:00am. There was a good breeze from the southeast. The roads were soft but rideable.

When I came to S 120th Road (along Belvedere Road) at 9:08am, I stopped for a break. A truck going north pulled up and stopped. The occupants were going to the church service, and offered me a ride. I could make it on time riding, so said, "See you there."

Mostly downhill riding north on 120th Road to my next turn, the road the barn is on (E Scott Road). I had an option here. If I went straight a little farther, I could meet up with highway NE-4, then go southeast a little to meet back up with E Scott Road. The reason this was a good idea is because a right turn here would have me on a short section of dirt road. For some reason, I took this dirt road option. I was halfway along this section when I realized my tires were clogging up with mud. A little farther, and the wheels locked up tight!

I've read about this happening to others, but apparently had to learn this lesson myself the hard way! Even if I freed up the wheels, they'd be clogged again before I was clear of this section of road. It was 9:30am. The barn was a mile away. I parked the bike, and took off walking. I'll figure something out after the service. I received offers for a ride from several who drove by, but I told them my boots were too muddy.

I arrived at the entrance road to the barn at 9:50am. I stopped to scrape mud off my boots. A parking attendant standing nearby asked me to move some, since I was blocking the parking of incoming vehicles, and I hadn't noticed that. The church service organizers had bottled water available, and I received a bulletin. Nebraskans are apparently tough. They all chose to sit in the sun, leaving the shade of a tree for me to stand under. Those who had offered me a ride earlier welcomed me, as did several others. The service was very good, moving right along, and ending right at 11:00am. The pastor tied-in local history with the points of her sermon. After the service, the barn was opened for viewing inside.

On my walk back to the bike, I figured out a plan for getting out of the mud. Unload the bike, and carry the bike and gear (several trips) to the highway. I'd left the barn at 11:15am, and arrived at the bike at 11:33am. I was sorry I'd be missing the church luncheon, but at least I'd enjoyed the service. My flag pole worked great for getting the mud out from between the tires and the fenders. I was able to roll it on east to NE-4. Two trips is all it took for the gear.

I was loaded and ready to go at 12:30pm. Noon mileage (back stuck in the mud) was 3.8. Two miles to go to Filley, and on highways. Maybe I can make it for lunch - and I did, arriving at the church at 12:47pm!

It was like meeting old friends. They filled up my plate with a hamburger, hot dog, and beans. I added salad, and also cake and homemade ice cream. The ice cream would melt, so I tackled that first. The pastor came over to welcome me, and connected me with a city official, who granted me permission to set my tent up at the park in town. I'm all set now! Lots of visits with others - both locals and out-of-towners. I was about the last one out at 1:47pm, but I don't think I held up the clean-up crew any.

I was at the ball field park at 1:57pm. No picnic tables here, but there is some shade under the pavilion. That's where I took a forty-minute nap starting at 3:00pm - on the concrete pad using my towel as a pillow.

At 4:30pm, I biked the few blocks uptown to Filley Bar & Grill. I needed a cold drink, and had two large ice-filled glasses of Dr Pepper. The Kapton tape repair of my bike's seat was needing some help. The waitress here gave me some heavy-duty packaging tape, to add to my patch job. More conversations with patrons, one couple sightseeing, and the other couple local residents. The local fellow was the guy who kept me from getting run over this morning in the barn's parking lot. He's a life-long resident of Filley. We talked about the sad shape of the old high school building. The school's old flag pole is now in his front yard. I received a supper invite from this kind couple, but after lunch and the sodas, I didn't need supper.

Back at the ball field, I continued work on yesterday's report. A few local kids came and went (several times), and asked a few questions. Later they provided me with Filley's zip code. My eclipse app wasn't providing the times for tomorrow. I think it was overwhelmed with data requests. At 10:30pm, I called my wife, who was able to provide what I need to know.

Heat lightning to the northeast. Tomorrow's the big day! Better get some rest.

Jeff

Spent: $10 (lunch donation) + $2 plus $3 (Dr Pepper) = $15.00.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 15 - Rockford, NE to Filley, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Pastor LuRae Hallstrom of American Lutheran Church leads the community outdoor service at Elijah Filley Stone Barn +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Consolidated District No. 166 school building was erected in 1919 (according to the corner stone) - Filley, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ front page news +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 miles (10 km)
Total: 560 miles (901 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0