Day 13 - ending at Marysville, KS - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2017

Day 13 - ending at Marysville, KS

Posted via email Sat Aug 19 05:33:02 2017 PDT

My alarm (not the smartphone one) made one tiny beep this morning, but it was enough to wake me at 5:20am. Talked some with the motel owner as I turned in my key, then headed off at 7:14am toward Daily Perks, the place I could get a discount with my motel receipt. "Two blocks south, then four blocks west." I messed that up somehow, and had to back-track.

I had 'The Full Breakfast', and sat in the front area. The back room was filled with old men. Sent report in while I waited. As she had time, one woman was outside making preparations for eclipse day. After I was done eating, I caught up on home news with a call to my wife.

On my way at 8:38am, through downtown Hiawatha on Business-36, then connected with US-36 at 8:57pm. I desperately wanted to get to Marysville today, which would put me back on schedule.

A level-road start for me, but the southwest wind was a factor. Arrived at Fairview at 10:19am. In some yards, chairs were lined up facing the sun. On west, I crossed into Nemaha County at 10:50am. A little later I took a break at X Road. The wind was changing direction. From the west now, and stronger. And there were some hills. At noon I'd only completed 19.9 miles of the 60 needed to get me to Marysville. Not going to make it in this wind. I decided I'd have to stop today at Seneca, ten more miles ahead.

At 12:35pm I was at the intersection with the road to Oneida. A little later I was coasting down a hill, trying to figure out what I was seeing ahead. It was a fellow all geared up for a cross-country walk! I was barely stopped when I received a hearty handshake from Ben Walther. We shared our stories. Ben left San Francisco on May 1, and is heading to Rhode Island. He's a very interesting person, and you can read his whole story at www.facebook.com/myownmomentum/ . He wasn't in need of anything except a sip of ice water, and I had a full canteen of that. I used up twenty-five minutes of his time, but it was such a highlight for me. Thanks for the visit Ben. Best wishes for a continuing safe trip. [A note to Ben: check out the new Rock Island Trail in Missouri (between Pleasant Hill and Windsor.)]

During our conversation, the wind had changed direction again, and was now coming from a little west of north. Ben had told me the shoulder was much wider west of Seneca. These two facts renewed my hope for making it to Marysville, and by the time I'd reached Seneca (at 1:56pm), I was ready for a quick bite and a continued ride.

McDonald's was the place where I ate lunch. Then I added air to my slowly-leaking rear tire (52 psi up to 70), and bought two drinks at the DG store. All these delays had me finally heading out of Seneca at 2:55pm.

The wind wasn't a factor now (except for keeping me cool), and the hills weren't really, either. Having a wide shoulder sure helps. No more need to pull off when two vehicles are going to meet at my spot during an uphill climb. I passed by Baileyville at 3:35pm, and entered Marshall County at 4:04pm. At 5:50pm, I passed an 'Experience The Flint Hills' sign. I had been enjoying a flat-road experience! However, it wasn't too bad, and I reached Home City at 6:22pm.

I pulled into the Sinclair station at Home City for a Gatorade. The clerk there asked where I was planning to stay for the night, since she figured all the motels would be booked for the eclipse weekend. She said if there were no rooms available in Marysville, I could set up my tent in her yard! She dialed the Thunderbird Motel, then handed me her phone. That motel did have a room available, so I reserved it. When I returned the phone, I received information on where the motel is (through town and up a hill). I complained a little about the 'hill' part, but was actually thankful for her kind help, and especially impressed with her generous back-up plan offer.

After a quick return phone call to my wife, I headed to Marysville, arriving at their city limits at 7:21pm. Lots to see on my way through town, so lots of stopping to take pictures. I made it up the hill west of town, arriving at the motel at 8:17pm. New owners here (bought the motel yesterday), and they're still learning about the place. I noticed they provide laundry service, and they said they would do mine overnight. So after I was in room 33, I had a shower first thing, then turned over all my laundry, including what I'd worn today.

Next, a root beer from the machine here, then report-writing. 12:40am. Done (except for the morning proof-read)!

What a great day it's been!

Jeff

Spent: $11.33 plus $2.50 (breakfast) + $6.52 (lunch) + $1.50 (compressed air) + $3.65 (strawberry milk, Monster Ultra Red) + $1.37 (Gatorade) + $62.20 plus $5.60 (motel) + $1 (root beer) = $95.67.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 13 - Hiawatha, KS to Marysville, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ packed up and ready for a new day - Sunflower Motel, Hiawatha, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ city hall building - Hiawatha, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
cross-country walker Ben Walther (www.facebook.com/myownmomentum/)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ben continues on toward the East Coast - August 18, 2017, five miles west of Seneca, Kansas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ "The Joy of Pepsi" - Marysville, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 517 miles (832 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0