Day 12 - ending at Hiawatha, KS - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2017

Day 12 - ending at Hiawatha, KS

Posted via email Fri Aug 18 05:49:03 2017 PDT

It was a pleasant night for sleeping, and I was doing that when, at about 11:30pm, I heard yelling from Cody and Marissa's campsite. It was Cody I was hearing, and it wasn't pleasant. Things quieted down, but I was rattled. Same noise from Cody about an hour later. I hadn't been able to sleep, so decided to just pack up and get a really early start.

I worked quietly in the dark, rolling the loaded bike away at 3:30am, just as another round of commotion started. I'm not sure what the problem was. I know they're both under a lot of stress due to recent upsetting changes in their lives. I'm praying for them.

I was surprised to find my main headlight not working. The LED bulb was out, so I replaced the bulb with a spare. Between this dimmer spare lamp and the Belleville's original light, I could see well enough.

My original destination for today was Sabetha City Lake, where there's camping. Now, maybe a motel in Sabetha. The first part of the route was the same, either way. I made it to US-73 at 4:03am, and turned west. Not much traffic. Vehicles could see me for a ways, and I, them. At 5:47am, I was at Lancaster, after following the highway curve north. There was a much-improved shoulder starting here!

I took several breaks along the roadside as I went, including one at Huron at 6:35am. The sun was up by then.

It was a fight this morning against the wind, which was from the northwest. But I couldn't complain about the road or the scenery.

I arrived in Horton at 8:30am. Asked a fellow I saw at a grocery store parking lot if there was a place for breakfast in town. He pointed me to Grandma's Depot Cafe ahead. I enjoyed the 'Pancake & Egg' selection off the $5 menu. Afterwards, I filled up my water jug and got ice for my Klean Kanteen. Sitting outside gave me a chance to put on sunscreen. After that, I visited with a guy about my trip.

On my way at 10:07am, turning north, following US-73 toward Hiawatha and US-36. Twelve miles now with stronger wind and a few hills. Another 'take a break every three miles' ride.

Noon arrived before this stretch was over. Here's that report: 37.1 miles. My best yet, I think.

At 12:37pm, I was next to Hiawatha's city limit sign. I continued into town, parking the bike in the shade of tree in front of the Dollar General Store. Went in for a chocolate milk, then sat down next to the bike. I was spent. Decided to go for a motel here in town, and get in an afternoon nap.

Headed north up the road to the Sunflower Motel. The clerk was the owner - a grandma who was baby-sitting a one-year-old as she checked me in. She provided information on places to eat and sites to see - while keeping the baby out of mischief.

I was at the door to room 21 at 1:24pm. Outside stairs prevented me from rolling the loaded bike into the room, so I unloaded it first. A shower, then a nap was the plan. I was asleep at 3:03pm, and alarm-awake ("Where am I?") at 5:20pm.

When I was awake enough, I studied maps, watched the Weather Channel, and worked on the report. At 8:30pm, I walked across the street to the empty dining room of Pizza Hut. Great service from my waiter, and I enjoyed a Personal Pan Meat Lover's pizza with salad bar and root beer. Talked some about my trip as I was leaving. Turns out my waiter saw me riding on the highway this morning.

I'm still tired, so I'm going to bed (at 10:30pm). Good night.

Jeff

Spent: $7.98 plus $5 (breakfast) + $1.47 (chocolate milk) + $68.99 plus $5 (motel) + $11.21 plus $3 (supper) = $102.65.

Day 12 - Atchison, KS to Hiawatha, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 456 miles (734 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0