Day 11 - still at Atchison, KS - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2017

Day 11 - still at Atchison, KS

Posted via email Wed Aug 16 20:03:02 2017 PDT

Good sleeping last night, but thunder woke me up at 4:15am. Started raining at 4:20am. Done by 4:45am. Then more at 7:25am, and 9:25am. Once I saw the tent was rain-worthy (new tent this year), I slept the morning away.

Up at 11:30am, and there was a nice cool breeze. Set up for lunch at noon. Enjoyed visiting with my wife on a phone call after that. Then on to report-writing at the picnic table. While I was sitting there, a dead tree limb fell out of one of the near-by maple trees. Free firewood - delivered!

At 3:12pm, I was invited to supper by a young woman who was driving by. She and her fiance set up their tent at a nearby site last night at 11:00pm, and it was the quietest late-night set up I have ever heard (or not heard). She said she'd be back later with her fiance, then we'd eat.

At 4:00pm, with the report in, I took off on the bike to check out the sites here at Warnock Lake. Amelia Earhart Earthwork is here, and even after seeing it, I can't figure out exactly what it is. On to the next site: the Forest of Friendship. This, I see, is trees in a very nice park setting. I didn't spend a lot of time here, since I didn't want to hold up supper.

I rode back to the camping area and met Marissa and Cody. Cody was gathering firewood, and I contributed my fallen limb to the stack. We discussed options for supper, and it was decided that we go into town, and eat out. The ride to Pete's Steakhouse allowed me to see what I'd missed last evening of downtown Atchison.

We arrived at the restaurant at 6:03pm, with directional help from Marissa's smartphone. I didn't pass up my opportunity for a steak dinner, and it was very good. Had several glasses of lemonade also. But the best part of the meal was having company, and hearing interesting stories!

We were back at the campground at 7:45pm. I stayed at Cody and Marissa's site for a little while, enjoying their campfire, then said goodbye, since I still had report-writing to do.

A very pleasant evening for working at the picnic table. I happened to notice awesome clouds to the southeast, reflecting the setting sunlight. Beautiful from here, and I was glad they were over there.

What a great day off! I'm rested, and fueled for tomorrow, thanks to the ride into town.

Jeff

Spent: $5 (campsite) + $21.39 plus $5 (supper) = $31.39.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0