Day 10 - ending at Atchison, KS - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2017

Day 10 - ending at Atchison, KS

rode on St. Joseph Parkway System

Posted via email Wed Aug 16 13:51:02 2017 PDT

Up at 4:20am, thanks to two alarms. I needed an earlier start today to make the miles figured to get to my next destination - Warnock Lake at Atchison, Kansas. My original routing would of had me at Wallace State Park last night. My routing from there had me going to St. Joseph, to take advantage of some bike trails, and then US-59, which is level roadway. So, when I get to St. Joseph, I will be able to follow my waypoints again.

With yesterday's report sent in, I went to the lobby at 6:05am for breakfast. Next, finished packing the bike, including covering the gear with plastic, since there's a chance for rain today. On my way at 7:50am, back on US-36.

Flat, easy riding for several miles, then I came to a greatly reduce shoulder at 8:45am, near Osborn. Stopped at the intersection there to consider options. Decided to go ahead for now. Traffic was lighter than I'd expected, and in this situation, most all vehicles were moving to the left lane. Arrived at Lawson's Quick Stop in Stewartsville at 9:57am for a mid-morning snack.

At 10:45am, the wide shoulder was back. A little later I saw my first touring cyclist for this trip - heading the opposite direction. He was easy to see, with streamers attached to the back of his bike. I was cranking uphill, and he was in a good coast downhill, so we just waved.

I entered Buchanan County at 11:05am, and arrived at the city limits to St. Joseph at 12:21pm. Noon mileage report: 26.7 miles.

At S. Riverside Road I said goodbye to US-36 - "The Way of American Genius" - at 12:28pm. My waypoint for the bike trail was close, but with traffic and my stop for a Gatorade at a gas station across the road, it took a while to get there.

Started riding west on the Rock Island Branch at 12:56pm. What a pleasant change from highway shoulder riding! At 1:33 pm I switched to the Southwest Branch. This trail has hills. Ones that had me walking - not exactly what I expected! Anyway, I made it to the end (for me) at Hyde Park at 2:30pm. A few blocks west on neighborhood streets brought me to US-59, and a gas station for another Gatorade.

I did notice the wind some heading southwest on this highway, but it was as flat as I'd expected. Stopped about every three miles for water and to get off the bike for a moment. Made the right turn toward the bridge at 5:20pm. Nice shoulder here also. Made it over Atchison's new bridge (another hill) and arrived in Kansas at 6:04pm.

I was going to check out some of downtown Atchison, but trains were blocking the way north. I saw a Subway south of the tracks (where I was stuck), so I ate supper there. Left at 6:53pm.

On south and west toward Warnock Lake. More hills! Amelia Earhart was born in Atchison. She has a substation here named after her!

Arrived at the lake, going around two locked gates - the shortest way to the tent camping area, but then had to get to the RV camping area to check in. Finally at my campsite at 7:58pm. Moved the picnic table to catch any tree branches that might come down overnight, and set the tent up beyond that. I'm taking tomorrow off because of the rain predictions, so report-writing can wait until then. Right now it's a shower and bed.

Jeff

Spent: $3.64 (chocolate milk, apple pie) + $1.57 (Gatorade) + $1.57 (Gatorade) + $11.48 (supper) + $5 (campsite) = $23.26.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 10 - Cameron, MO to Atchison, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking south at US-169 from the Rock Island Branch bike trail - St. Joseph, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ "The hill was covered with . . . White Man's Foot. It seemed that wherever it grew, white men came to stay." +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ on US-59 approaching my right turn toward Kansas - Buchanan County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ looking north at the Missouri River from Amelia Earhart Bridge - Atchison, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 416 miles (669 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0