Sella Ronda Day Ride. - Dyn-o-mite In The Dolomites 2022 - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2022

Sella Ronda Day Ride.

And a little bit of help.

After yesterday's big day, I cheated and took the gondola with my bike up to 1900m to begin today's ride, saving me about 500m of climbing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Before I begin today's adventure, I must talk about a little incident that occurred during yesterday's ride.  If you recall from yesterday, we had a strudel break in Caprille.  Although I didn't mention it,  because it was so trivial, I noticed that I had a little dried drip of blood on my leg.  I scratched at it with my fingernail as flakes of dried blood wafted off into the wind.  I thought nothing of it, and we proceeded with our long climb up to Passo Fedaia.  

Now.  Let's time travel a little bit to the top of Fedaia.  We don't have to go into all of the details about the climb again, do we?  If you need a refresher, then go back and read yesterday's entry.  But, you're missing the big point here, reader.  Just stick with me.

So.  We've arrived at the top and there's that spot of blood again.  I scratch at it, and pick off what I thought was a thorn, or some burr that I picked up along the way.  When I picked it out, I placed the invader on the bench I was seated on, and was distracted by the blood now dripping down my leg.  Sue looked down and noticed that it was moving. It was a tick!  Gack!  I  @%*&'n hate ticks.  And, it had been feeding on me for the past few hours, which is even more unsettling.  Any animal that burrows it's head into your skin is downright creepy, and no friend of mine.  I consider myself a friend of the animal kingdom, but burrowing skin creatures is where I draw the line.  I recalled stretching earlier in the day on some grass, and I thought I may have picked up the creepy hitchhiker then.

Sue, who is usually always the consoling and compassionate one adds right after this experience:  "God.  I hope you don't get Lyme Disease."  Yeah.  Very helpful, Sue.  Too bad I didn't get a picture of the creepy little bugger before I crushed him with my cycling shoe.  But, of course, I will take the necessary precautions and monitor the area for the tell-tale ring signs around the wound and any noticeable fatigue.

Many of you might think, it's just a tick.  But, like I said.  I hate ticks.

So, on to today's ride.  This was another solo adventure, as Sue decided to go for a hike, and I was somehow compelled to ride the Sella Ronda; a route which I had planned on doing months ago. I hummed and hawed this morning about actually following through with this ride, but I am a compulsive kind of guy, so I went for it.  After travelling all this way, there was no way I was going miss the opportunity to ride the Sella Ronda.  However, there was one caveat to this plan.  After some researching last night, I discovered that I could take the gondola up to 1900m, which would save me about 500m of climbing.  So, another 'gondola assist' saves the day.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the Sella Ronda, let me provide you with a little context.  It is an infamous cycling route that circumnavigates Piz Boe mountain.   Along the route, you climb over four mountain passes:  Passo Pordoi, Passo di Campolongo,   Passo di Gardena, and Passo di Sella;  for a total elevation gain of 1691m.  Click on the blue Sella Ronda if you want to find out more about this route.  This route is certainly on the bucket list of many road riders on the planet.

Consider this another photo montage, and I'll let the captions tell the story.

Easy elevation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Climbing towards Passo Pordoi. Incredible scenery on the way up.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I don't have any tattoos. I always like the one's I can wash off.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Piz Boe shrouded in clouds with the Passo Pordoi refugio below.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Passo Pordoi. 2239m above sea level.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I met a German couple up here. I took their photo, and they took mine. I could tell by their steel touring machines that they were on a tour. They mentioned that it was so nice to be doing this route without luggage, and I agreed.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Passo Pordoi.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Small chapel. Passo Pordoi.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Descending east towards the town of Arabba. One pass down, three to go.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The serpentine road descending down towards the town of Arabba seen in the valley below.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Why not one last look back up towards Passo Pordoi?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetIs that fireweed?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraI would agree with that. Good call.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I stopped for a quick break in Arabba to fill my water bottle at the town fountain.  It's one of those wonderful things about travelling in this region.  Every town, has it's own public water source where people gather to splash their faces to cool off,  or cup their hands to take a slurp,  or wash dirty children's hands after eating gelato.  It's always a wonderful gathering place and reinforces the importance of clean drinking water that is common to all of us.  I'm sorry I did not get a picture of it this time, but I promise I will in the coming days ahead.

Goodbye Arabba. On to the next climb. Passo di Campolongo here I come!
Heart 2 Comment 0
What else is there to say?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two passos down, two to go. Descending towards the lovely town of Corvara.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What a stunning valley that Corvara sits in.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Corvara comes into view.
Heart 3 Comment 0

This region of the Italian Dolomites is very distinct for its Ladin culture and language.  Not Latin.  But, Ladin.  For the past few days we have been seeing the distinctive unofficial Ladin flag of horizontal blue, white and green stripes symbolizing Ladinia's forests, the snow-covered peaks, and the blue sky above.  

Leaving Corvara. The Piz Boe massive looming to the south.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Corvara down below. Climbing towards Passo di Gardena. Pass number three for the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Stunning.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Passo di Gardena at 2121m.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Passo di Gardena.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Passo di Gardena. Looking south towards the final passo. Passo di Stella is a left turn around the near mountain. Then it's the final climb. You can just make out the road snaking its way down to the left.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The final passo of the day. Passo di Sella (2213m)
Heart 0 Comment 0
One final look back at Passo di Sella. Heading back home.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heading back down to Canazie. What else can I say, but another stellar day on a bicycle.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 km (35 miles)
Total: 444 km (276 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Scott AndersonGreat that you got such fine weather, but good luck with that tick bite. Very worrisome.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraIt's ironic that I warned you about ticks earlier, and I'm the one who ends up with one. Ha ha.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonAmazing ride! Sue, I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one that likes to take the day off the bike to take a hike. It’s sure is a great area for hiking!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraThanks Rachael. Sometimes I just don't feel like getting on my bike, especially after yesterday's big day. Besides, it's important that we also get our alone time. I'm sure you can agree:) Thanks for writing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenThe Sella Ronda! One of our highlights when we were in the area. Also the scene of some drama…not a tick…an unexpected and unrelenting mountain storm. The tick is worrying although fortunately the odds are with you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Kathleen ClassenHi Kathleen. Certainly was a highlight. Mountain storms are serious business. This region has unpredictable weather. There were a few big storm bursts while we were in Cortina. Sounds scarier than a tick bite. Thanks for writing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago