Beginning another phase - What to do between doctor’s visits, part 2 - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2019

Beginning another phase

I feel a little bit like Alice in Through The Looking Glass as I have jumped ahead agin by train. This allowed me to shorten considerably the ride I would be doing in the 30 degree plus’s weather, and also gave me a chance to ride on a rural branch line that may not be around for much longer. The railway to St. Yriex from Limoges has already been truncated once, and is probably not long for this world. And so dies another small part of the countryside. Not all change can be called progress, I guess.

The morning ride was very pleasant. There were a lot of climbs, but a lot of descents, too. And with the air temperatures in the 20’s, it wasn’t all that bad. I fond a vey pleasant place to have a light lunch in Ségur le Château. 

The chateau looms over the village.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of very old houses in the village.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Restaurant where I ate to the left. Salad of fresh tomatoes and greens with slices of home-cured ham.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ate and left quickly trying to avoid the worst of the afternoon heat. Getting to Voutezac, I found a bar for cold water, but I think I left more sweat on the counter than I took away in cold San Pellegrino. Anyway, the heat was on. Lucky for me there were no more climbs, only a log flat ride down the valley to Brive la Gaillard. 

An interesting chapel I saw along the way.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I got to Brive, the temperature peaked at 33 degrees, but the hotel had air conditioning and I dove into it. In the evening I took a stroll around the city center as the air started to cool.

There is a lighthouse in the middle of Brive. I don’t know why.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Gregory GarceauI love a structure that makes no sense at all.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Rainbow umbrellas are festooned on the trees in the city center. I still don’t know why.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetI suspect the meaning is similar to that of the rainbow crosswalks found in many places in Canada.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith KleinWell you have me there. Not being Canadian, I had no idea such things existed, or what they might mean. I am guessing it has something to do with inclusiveness, but I could be wrong.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
There are more umbrellas over the main streets in the city center.
Heart 3 Comment 0

After walking around, I settled on an air-conditioned restaurant for a club sandwich and sorbet as a light supper. It’s been too hot to eat much.

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 571 km (355 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0